system UI server

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rye9, Aug 26, 2006.

  1. rye9 macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #1
    Well I plugged my camera in to upload some pics and iPhoto wasnt recognizing the camera, and I noticed that the syetemUiserver wasnt responding, so I force quit, and then tried again, but it became unrespsonsive again.. help! :eek:

    Also, now I have half the amount of free RAM than I did before.. both with no apps open (except acivity monitor).. whats the deal??
     
  2. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #2
    I also am losing HD space by the minute!

    Well, I restarted... and now I have about .25GB less HD space than before. Why is this?
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    I think the hard drive space loss is just the machine using that space for Virtual RAM. Have you installed any third party hacks recently (like Front Row)? What items do you have in the top right corner of your Menu Bar? :)
     
  4. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #4
    Nope I hadn't done anything with hacks, and just the normal is in my menu bar (airport, battery, time, spotlight). It's all good now and disk utility says my HD is fine... I guess the only thing that happened was the windowserver crashed or something... and then poof, my RAM was gone.. so the OS was using all the RAm and then some, so I restarted.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    Good work. Yeah, a restart often fixes small problems like this. It's good to restart your machine every now and then just to clean things up anyway. :)
     

Share This Page