System-wide backend database?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MacVault, Feb 1, 2007.

1. MacVault macrumors 65816

I'm not a developer so bare with me... I've just been thinking though that with our digital lives coming together on the computer more and more things are being digitized. So my question is would it be feasable/benificial/etc for an operating system - OS X for example - to have some kind of open-format, built-in, back-end database to link/keep track of all this data. For example, say I want my Personal Finance Manager (oops - no good ones on the Mac) to link transactions to PDF receipts, etc, and also to entries in my address book that relate to the transaction, or to media files in iTunes, etc. And be able to go the other way from the PDF/media/address book record, etc to the transaction, etc. This is just a basic example.

Basically I'm thinking there should be an easier way for the user to associate/relate data with other data/objects on the computer, or even out on the internet.

Is this already in the system?
    Should I just shut up and get a day job?

2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89

Mac OS X has Core Data, a framework that could be used to build such a database. Spotlight also has its own database, as does iTunes, but none of these databases are connected to one another directly. This would be a really cool idea, though - for one, it would make Spotlight hugely more powerful.

3. MacVault thread starter macrumors 65816

Is the concept I described in my original post kind of like what WinFS was suppose to be?

It really seems like any piece of data on a computer or records in a database should have the ability to be more easily linked, referenced, with multiple relationships, etc, across apps, networks, etc. Organizing stuff just in folders just does not cut it now days.