T-Mobile unlock

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by southpoleman69, Jul 17, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    pa
    #1
    just got a tmobile sim, popped it in my phone, and success, unlocked. swapped the sim into my wifes and im not getting the same results. any one experience this before? is it possible it is because now the sim is activated on my phone and am unable to use it to unlock hers? what other explanation is there?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #2
    Why do you think the sim is responsible for unlocking your phone and why do you expect it to unlock your wife's phone?
     
  3. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Yes, like the poster said above me.
    Sounds like your wifes iphone is not unlocked if it doesn't recognize or work or activate with the tmobile sim.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    pa
    #4
    Used swiftunlocks, both are ready to be unlocked. Went to tmobile, guy said the same one should work for both, so therefore I assume it would. I put it in mine first and it said need to activate, once it went through I had tmobile service. Now in hers it says it is not recognizable. So I figured because now the sim I got is active, it won't work.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    T E X A S
    #5
    Looks like your wife's iPhone is still not unlocked, would try contacting swift unlocks.
     
  6. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    I would try a restore with iTunes on her phone to see if the unlock goes through.
    The sim doesn't matter.
    You can use the same sim to activate any unlocked iphone.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Agent-P

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    So just to clarify to make sure I'm understanding correctly, you purchased only ONE unlock code from swiftunlocks and the rep at T-Mobile said the same one should work for both iPhones? If so, then the rep was mistaken. You'll need to get a second unlock code for your wife's iPhone. The unlocks have nothing to do with the T-Mobile SIM card, but rather with your iPhone's IMEI number (which is unique to each device).
     
  8. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #8
    Your first mistake was believing anything technical told to you buy a guy in a cellphone store. :D There's the occasional exception but in general take anything with a grain of salt.

    ^^^^ This. Same SIM should work on any/all unlocked phones since it has nothing to do with unlocking the phone. Unlocking is device specific so if you didn't buy a 2nd code for your wife's phone you will need to. If you did buy a 2nd one, talk to swiftunlocks to find out why it didn't work.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    pa
    #9
    I do have 2 unlock codes, i emailed swiftunlocks and was told they are going to resubmit the code and to try again in the morning, which i am trying now, so ill see what happens. my point was maybe i got wrong information and thought once the sim was activated in my phone it couldnt be used to unlock the second phone even though i did buy the unlock code for it.
     
  10. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Nope, the sim has nothing to do.
    Wait till the unlock resubmits and try again.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #11
    SIMs are not tied to a specific device. You can confirm this by taking the OLD SIM from your phone (the one you used before you unlocked) and putting it in your wife's phone. Her phone will recognize it, and when you call your old number, her phone will ring (assuming you didn't port your number to the new T-Mobile SIM).
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    pa
    #12
    Tried this morning all went well. Once at tmobile the manager tried upselling me 2 tmobile iphones due to the fact that there phones can run faster than an unlocked phone. Any truth to this or he just wanted to make 2 sales?
     
  13. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Unfortunately its true.
    The Tmobile iphone 5 will connect to HSPA+ in more places and thus giving you faster data speeds.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    pa
    #14
    Well that sucks. Oh well im only staying on until the next iphone makes an appearance so im not to upset it as i have wifi at work and home. Just need to make calls obviously
     
  15. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    I hear you.
    If you're around wifi most of the time then you'd be fine.
    Tmobile has some nice prices compared to verizon and AT&T.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    pa
    #16
    does it make more sense to use att go phone plan? i hear users are only getting about 60-70% of the quality contract users are getting? not looking to get on another contract until at least the new iphone comes out
     
  17. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    pa
    #17
    So if i have a tmo sim card, and pick up a gophone sim card for 10 bucks just to see if theres a major difference for my daily activities, popping in the att card and activating is not going to do any damage to my tmobile number and plan correct? Because its all sim based. I can just take my att card and have my number and service from tmobile
     
  18. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    Yes, that's the beauty of gsm carriers.
    You can just pop in any sim and use any phone number or carrier you want with no probs.
     

Share This Page