Tabbed browsing in Safari?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Max on Macs, May 4, 2006.

  1. Max on Macs macrumors 6502

    Max on Macs

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I just today realised that Safari has tabbed browsing! Awesome, I never noticed that before. So I enabled it. I have some problems with it though. I don't want to have to hold down the apple key every time I click a link that would open a new window, can't I set it up so instead of opening new windows it puts everything in one window with tabs? Same if I click a link in an iChat convo or something it will open a new window instead of a new tab. Also, I keep pressing Apple+N and Apple+W for opening and closing windows when what I want is tabs... I can't get out of this habbit. Any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  2. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #2
    Safari>Preferences>General>Open Links From Applications: in a new tab in the current window

    Ta Da.;)

    Check out PimpMySafari for tools do the other stuff you mention.
     
  3. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #3
    How did you ever live without tabbed browsing?!!! :eek: ;) :D
     
  4. Max on Macs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Max on Macs

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    #4
    Awesome, thanks guys. Found some other cool ways to make my Mac life even better too including a cool app to change the search options in quicksearch in Safari and Chax for tabbed iChat !!! :D
     
  5. zweigand macrumors 6502a

    zweigand

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #5
    You can click links with your middle mouse button to open them in new tabs ...that's how i do it most of the time

    You could also change "New Tab" to Command+N by going to System Preferences > Keyboard & Mouse > Keyboard Shortcuts. Hit the little + at the bottom and fill out the box to look like this...

    [​IMG]

    Restart Safari and it will be Command+N from then on.
     
  6. commonpeople macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    #6
    I've always wondered- can I get a button I can click on in the toolbar of Safari to create a blank tab?
     
  7. zweigand macrumors 6502a

    zweigand

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #7
    I personally never worry about creating a blank tab. If you are typing in an address in the bar just type it in the current window and before you hit enter just hold the Command key down. It opens the link in a new tab instead of the current one.
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Not without a hack, but if you want one, try this:

    http://www.plan8.org/safaributtons.php
     
  9. zorg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    #9
    I love tabbed browsing! I have like 5 tabs open at all times- minimum. How did you ever live w/o it?
     
  10. Miguey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    So Cal 909
    #10
    tabbed browsing is cool....can you switch between tabs though without clicking on them? i.e. on my pc i am able to press ctrl tab and it switches through tabs without clicking...is it possible on safari?
     
  11. lordj4000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    In unfathomable darkness
    #11
    Apple + shift and then left or right arrow.
     
  12. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #12
    I doubleclick on the tab bar to get a new tab, but I'm not sure if that's a Saft thing or a Safari thing.

    And ditto, how can you live without tabbed browsing? :D
     
  13. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #13
    Or you can just use cmd + t like everyone else. ;)
     
  14. zweigand macrumors 6502a

    zweigand

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #14
    Yea, I DO use that when I want a new tab (on rare occasion) ...otherwise I just Type the address and Command+Return like i said above.
     
  15. mileslong macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #15
    ive never been able to double click on the tab bar to get another tab like i do in camino or firefox. its one of the reasons i dont use safari. i cant believe this option doesnt come standard or is not available in safari...
     
  16. Miguey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    So Cal 909
    #16
    thank you
     
  17. steelfist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    #17
    tab browsing is great, until when you got so used to it you feel like you're in hell when you use internet explorer.
     
  18. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #18
    Well, if you're using IE, that is the suitable place for it... :D
     

Share This Page