Tablet for iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by friedymeister69, Mar 14, 2006.

1. friedymeister69 macrumors member

I am interested in buying a tablet for my new iMac. By tablet, I'm talking about one of those square things that allows you to draw on it and display it on teh screen. Forgive me if I sound retarded, I would be using this with photoshop.

Anyone have some recommendations?

2. shrimpdesign macrumors 6502a

shrimpdesign

3. friedymeister69 thread starter macrumors member

Thanks for the reply. I'm no professional but from what i've read, it is awkward to use the smaller pads. If I am going to get a tablet I don't want to get a crappy one. I would merely be using it with photoshop for some photo touchups (possibly), random photoshop stuff, maybe designing some websites, etc.

4. ChrisA macrumors G4

On the wacom web site they have a automated "wizard" that asks you questions and then recommens one of thier tablets. You might think it would simply always recommend the most expnsive tablet they make but no. It really does do the right thing and take into concideration your workspace and usage.

You want one that is sized "right" for your use. To large and you need to move you whole arm. To small and you can't do detail work

Also for an iMac you may want a wide format tablet to match the wide LCD.

5. MRU macrumors demi-god

MRU

DO NOT use those 4.95 drivers.

I just downloaded them and now tablet preferences are reporting my tablet is unsupported.

Had to remove them and go back a revision 4.94

Intuos 3 on Intel Imac

Also if you any software like Corel Painter. Make sure you update to 9.5 as the older version 9, 9.1b both crash out with a compatability bug with the wacom drivers too...

:( :( :(

6. iMeowbot macrumors G3

iMeowbot