Taking a Screen Shot in OS X

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by briansolomon, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. briansolomon macrumors 6502

    briansolomon

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    #1
    I've been using Macs for a few years now, but I still don't know how to take a screen shot. I know in Windows it was Print Screen and then copy and paste into paint but that doesn't help me much here. Thanks for the help, guys.

    Brian
     
  2. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    apple shift 3 to capture the whole screen
    apple shift 4 for selection
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
  4. briansolomon thread starter macrumors 6502

    briansolomon

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    #4
    Completely forgot about the guides...and I usually look at those on a weekly basis. :eek:
     
  5. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    Or if you are an idiot like me and can never remember those, try the Screenshot Plus widget.
     
  6. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #6
    You can also use the Grab application, and in applications that support it, you can use the Grab option from the Services menu.
    Also, if you have DVD Player open, you can't take a screenshot.
     

Share This Page