Taking a Screenshot

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cbrain, Dec 28, 2006.

  1. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #1
    How do I take screenshots with a mac? Theres an extra "F" key were print screen would usually be on a windows machine.
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    command (apple key) + Shift + 3 will take an entire screenshot

    command (apple key) + Shift + 4 will take a selection shot
     
  3. Cloudgazer macrumors 6502

    Cloudgazer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Location:
    RSA
    #3
    Or use 'Grab' its located in the applications > utilities folder.
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Cmd-Shift-4 followed by the space bar will take a shot of a specific window.
     
  5. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #5
    All of this, and more, can be found under Finder > Help menu > search for "keyboard shortcuts".
     
  6. spydr macrumors 6502

    spydr

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Location:
    MD
    #6
    The multifunction application 'Preview' can also do screen capture. File>Grab> the choices are 1. Window 2. Selection or 3. Timed Screen
     
  7. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    command (apple key) + Shift + 3 will take an entire screenshot, with a held CTRL will paste an entire screenshot into the clipboard

    command (apple key) + Shift + 4 will take a selection shot, with a held CTRL will paste a selection shot into the clipboard

    Cmd-Shift-4 followed by the space bar will take a shot of a specific window, and with a held CTRL, the specific window will be pasted into the clipboard

    :)
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    This is the one I forgot and was too lazy to google. :D I've needed it a couple of times recently. And how retro is the camera icon it makes? :eek: Odds that camera icon was ported over from NeXT without ever being modified for OS X? :D
     
  9. glennp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #9
    And if you don't like the default file format (.PNG) in 10.4, you can change it using the following:

    Just open a Terminal and type:

    defaults write com.apple.screencapture type image_format

    Replace image_format with your preferred image format. I imagine that anything supported by QuickTime should work. I know jpg and pdf works, and png is the default. You'll then have to logout/login to make the change take effect or just "killall SystemUIServer" in the terminal to implement the new screenshot format
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Yeah, that trick rocks. I have mine set to jpg on both of my computers... it was a big improvement over being stuck in PDF in Panther (before I knew about the trick) and having to open it in Preview and convert it.
     
  11. d wade macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #11
    i actually use a screenshot widget. cant remember where i got it though. do a search. its very easy
     
  12. Quboid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    everywhere
    #12
    Didn't even know that you could take a screen selection shot.:eek:
     
  13. Mac'Mo macrumors 6502a

    Mac'Mo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    wow thats a bloody awesome trick! thanks!
     

Share This Page