Taking data from PowerBook 145B

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by illegalprelude, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #1
    Hey guys and gals.

    I have a fun one for everybody. Can you think of anyway of taking data off of a PowerBook 145B. A what you say? A PowerBook 145B of course! I am a Mac/PC consultant and I was setting a new MBP15 for a customer the other day. I transfered some of his data over from a Dell and some IBM unit and all went fine. Towards the end, he busted out the PowerBook and asked me if I could do something with it. :eek:

    Good news is, the unit boots up just fine, bad news is, the monitor is a no go. Ive been doing some research and it dosent seem like there is any form of video out on this thing. Unless im mistaken and no output source for data, again, as far as I can tell (besides the floppy but that does me no good if i cant see the screen). Suggestions?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #3
    Target disk mode

    Target disk mode to another mac would be the way to go. I think I actually have one of those cables in my junk box here. From that connector to something relatively more useful but still ancient. You'd need another ancient working mac to pull this off.

    Probably the more reasonable approach is pulling the drive and DDing the contents onto another drive.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #4
    Hey! Thanks for that link! Yea, ill have to I guess contact him and see if he cares to spend money on it because it was more of a fun challenge for me, but if I need to spend money on it, then somebody (not me) will need to fork the bill :D mostly because I doubt ill run into another one of these hehe

    Yea, im guessing thats going to be my best solution as well. Other issue it seems though is that this unit, does use screws....its pressed together type screws if that makes sense. :eek:
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    kny3twalker

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #5
    Open it up!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_qWhYlhfWCI

    It is not like he will ever use it again after you get the data off the drive.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #6
    lol dammit, I was really hoping it was a how to link in terms of taking it apart. I guess it was in someways though :p
     

Share This Page