Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Abraxsis

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 23, 2003
Kentucky
So, after several years of being a designer I have decided to abandon my precious Pen tool. Im not sure if Im going to love the tablet like so many people have told me, so I want to be cautious in the purchase. Ive got a buy.com coupon from being a regular customer, so I can get a Bamboo Fun Medium for 159.00 shipped. OR I can go for the Graphire Bluetooth for a little more. Im basically using this to learn the motor functions to use the tablet, and if I like it Ill spring for something more like a large Intuos3 or a Cintiq. So which should I get ... Bamboo or Graphire BT?

Artful Dodger

macrumors 68020
Hello,
While I can't tell you which one because I use the Intuos3 I can help out by saying get at least a 6x8 since I found trying to use a 4x5 very irritating and it really made me not want to use it. While it's great for travel everyday use looses it's fun. I've read good news about the Bamboo and a friend just bought two for his kids and they love them.
Good luck and take your time with the pen, after that you more than likely won't want to go back to using your mouse unless you have to.

Abraxsis

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 23, 2003
Kentucky
Ive heard from this, and other boards that the pens for the more expensive models are better (comfort/weight wise) and can still be used with the Bamboo Fun Medium (which I just ordered, in silver, A5, for 180.00 with 2 day shipping). Can anyone confirm or deny this rumor?

jerryrock

macrumors 6502
Sep 11, 2007
Amsterdam, NY
Ive heard from this, and other boards that the pens for the more expensive models are better (comfort/weight wise) and can still be used with the Bamboo Fun Medium (which I just ordered, in silver, A5, for 180.00 with 2 day shipping). Can anyone confirm or deny this rumor?