TAM question

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by methodine, Feb 7, 2007.

  1. methodine macrumors newbie

    methodine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #1
    Hi,
    I wonder if you have some manuals in pdf format for TAM. I want to connect via Ethernet and i want to know how to do with it.

    Regards,
    George
     
  2. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #2
  3. methodine thread starter macrumors newbie

    methodine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #3
  4. mkjj macrumors 6502a

    mkjj

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #4
    I have seen one (I may have it!). will check and get back to you.
     
  5. methodine thread starter macrumors newbie

    methodine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #5
    thanks MKJJ, will be a pleasure to see it.
     
  6. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #6
    wow you have a TAM? thats really cool! I've always gawked at the $10,000 price tag that they used to cost... did you get yours new? Care to take some pics? :D
     
  7. mkjj macrumors 6502a

    mkjj

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Liverpool
  8. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #8
    Ok...how much do you want for the TAM? :p :D

    Thats a nice museum collection you have there, nice b&w print on the wall too.
     
  9. mkjj macrumors 6502a

    mkjj

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #9
    Tam

    LOL! Not selling it just yet! had it about three years and it came with the upgrade which is a Sonnett card also a 10/100 card so it happily runs on the DSL, i have a wireless card for it just not got round to fitting it yet!

    Runs OS 9.2.1 which they say is the limit you should take it too, not even to 9.2.2.

    Came with all th bits and pieces, pens etc and all boxes.
     
  10. methodine thread starter macrumors newbie

    methodine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #10
    Yeap, i will post some picture in next days, too busy now.
     
  11. methodine thread starter macrumors newbie

    methodine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #11
  12. methodine thread starter macrumors newbie

    methodine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #12
    Where can i find a Ethernet adapter for my TAM?! Does know anyone?!
     
  13. Forced Perfect macrumors 6502

    Forced Perfect

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #13
    Geez, I'd kill for the PCI riser/back plate so I could use an Ethernet card on my TAM. I got my TAM from a friend a while back (for free - suckers!) but it only has the thin back panel so I can't add a PCI card (or G3 upgrade).

    It is on my LAN though. I use a LocalTalk to Ethernet bridge combined with a Cisco router sitting on the network acting as a MacIP server. Thus giving it a full internet connection/IP address. :)

    It's just limited to ~20KB/sec speeds on my 5 Mbit ADSL. :p

    Any PCI Ethernet card should work just fine. Heck, isn't there a Comm Slot II socket on the riser too? Or is it just PCI on the TAMs. I can't remember. I really should redo my TAM page with new photos and more text.
     
  14. methodine thread starter macrumors newbie

    methodine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #14
    Thanks Forced Perfect, i will search the ethernet card and keep you infromed.
     
  15. Forced Perfect macrumors 6502

    Forced Perfect

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #15
    I should say 'Any Ethernet card with Mac OS drivers will work just fine'. :)
     
  16. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #16
    If you've got 9.2.1 on there, go ahead and go up to 9.2.2. There are a couple minor updates between the two that might make it more stable; and none of them should break anything. 9.1 would be marginally better than 9.2, but not enough to worry about downgrading.

    Using XPostFacto, you can install up to 10.4 on it (because of your G3 upgrade, without that, you'd only be able to go to 10.2,) although 128 MB of RAM will be a little tight. (It will run reasonably well alone, but I wouldn't load more than one program at a time.)
     
  17. methodine thread starter macrumors newbie

    methodine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #17
    I use my TAM in his original configuration. It supports just Mac OS 9.1
     
  18. methodine thread starter macrumors newbie

    methodine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #18
    so, i found a ethernet card Realtek 8139D, also the drivers for it. Working and connecting to the Net. Also, i found a firewire card, just attached to the PCI port and with an external hard disk working again:).
    Is amazing!
    Now, i'm looking for a version of browser for this TAM. I tried with Mozilla 1.2.1., not working well. Since now, ICab works good, perhaps another idea will help me.
    Thanks!
     
  19. Forced Perfect macrumors 6502

    Forced Perfect

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #19
    IE 5 Mac will work on it. It's not the best browser but it'll work. The newest version is OS X only though.
     
  20. methodine thread starter macrumors newbie

    methodine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #20
    ICab is the only one browser for Mac Os 9 which is up to date, as far as i know. Others don't offer support for Mac Os 9.
     
  21. methodine thread starter macrumors newbie

    methodine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
  22. Forced Perfect macrumors 6502

    Forced Perfect

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #22
    Well it was a nice thread we had going here. For a while. :p
     
  23. mkjj macrumors 6502a

    mkjj

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #23
    Hi George.

    At last I found it! Send me a PM and I will forward it to you.

    MarkJ
     
  24. thagomizer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #24
    You're better off getting a COMMslot Ethernet card rather than a PCI one. That way you can save your PCI slot for a Firewire/USB card. It makes the machine more useful overall.
     
  25. Forced Perfect macrumors 6502

    Forced Perfect

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #25
    Agreed.

    A PCI card is probably an easier find though. :)
     

Share This Page