tape recording

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Mr_Brightside_@, Dec 5, 2005.

  1. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68000

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #1
    what are some options for recording audio from a tape? - w/ and w/o cables. thankx a lot
     
  2. road dog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    #2
  3. allan_zip macrumors regular

    allan_zip

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Location:
    Belfast, N. Ireland
    #3
    It's safe to say you're gonna need cables no matter what. I've transferred tapes from micro-cassette recorders and stereo cassette decks through my soundcard (m-audio duo) into dsp-quattro. There are shed-loads of standalone recorders out there, check out www.macmusic.org for some. Use your 'line-in' connection if you don't have a soundcard.
     
  4. Mr_Brightside_@ thread starter macrumors 68000

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #4
    ok, thank you both. however, i have an iBook, how do i use its soundcard as it doesn't have Line-in? thankx
     
  5. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #5
    Get a Griffin iMic or similar USB sound device.
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    And cables ;)
     
  7. Mr_Brightside_@ thread starter macrumors 68000

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #7
    WHY dont iBook (or 12' pbooks) come with line-in ports? all pcs ship with three different audio input/output ports!!!
    ps, just saw griffin chnaged the imic a bit... maybe ill get it... thankx for all the help
    pps old New Order is SO good
     
  8. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #8
    All PowerBooks come with a line-in port, including the 12". iBooks don't come with a line-in port because they figure that most iBook customers will never use it, and it's one of the things that sets the PowerBook line apart. What I'd like to know is why Macs don't have a microphone port like every PC I've ever used. Of course, iBooks, PBs and iMacs have a built-in mic, but it'd still be really nice to be able to plug an external mic in without having to have an external mic preamp.
     
  9. eleveneastgate macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #9
    Audacity for FREE!!!

    Here's a free sound editing program...

    Audacity 1.2.4 and 1.3.0 (beta) have been released!

    http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

    Audacity 1.2.4 is a new stable version of Audacity, the free audio
    editor. It includes a couple of bug fixes and minor improvements and
    is recommended for all users. Audacity 1.3.0 is a beta release that
    contains hundreds of new features, but this version is unfinished and
    unstable, and is recommended primarily for advanced users. You can
    install both Audacity 1.2 and 1.3 simultaneously. Click here for
    more information or to download:

    http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

    Questions? Need help? Try the new Audacity Forum:

    http://audacityteam.org/forum/


    ++++++++++++++

    The exact reason I opted for a PB...
     
  10. allan_zip macrumors regular

    allan_zip

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Location:
    Belfast, N. Ireland
    #10
    I had a lot of trouble from my imic giving out clicks and pops, this was a problem specific to the ibook that they acknowledge on the imic support page. I'd double check to see if they have resolved the problem. If not you could check out similar devices made by Edirol, my friend had one and he had no problems on his ibook.
     
  11. MacSA macrumors 68000

    MacSA

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Im hoping these new intel macs will come with audio in..... the eMac had audio in, but has been discontinued...now the cheapest Mac with this feature is the iMac. :eek:
     
  12. jywv8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #12
    I digitized a bunch of tapes by using Sound Studio and hooking up an old walkman to the audio-in port on my G5. Worked great, but I had to divide the one huge, resulting track up into individual songs by hand. Maybe there was some automatic way to do that, but I just did it by hand.
     

Share This Page