Targus Numeric Keypad: Faulty or Just Incompatible?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Makosuke, Jan 17, 2007.

  1. Makosuke
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #1
    I just bought a Targus USB numeric keypad (the corded one without built-in calculator, but with a 2-port USB hub) for my MBP. Plugged it in, OSX (10.4) recognized it as a keyboard but couldn't figure out the type since it was a keypad not full keyboard, but it works... almost.

    The thing is, if I turn off its own numlock, then it works fine--the arrow and page up/down keys work as expected. And when I try to type numbers I do get numbers... but it is apparently registering several "clear" keystrokes along with the number I pressed.

    End result it's useless in Calculator (or the widget) since it hits clear after every number so you can't input anything, and while I can input numbers into a text document the extraneous "clear"s slow it down and make annoying beeping (since there's no defined action for that key in, say, TextEdit).

    I tried it in all three keyboard styles available (ANSI, ISO, and JIC), but the behavior is identical.

    Anybody have an idea if this is just a bum keypad or if it's actually not Mac compatible for some reason?

    If anybody is wondering why I picked this particular one, it was because I had a $10 off coupon for Staples and I can't use the "embedded" one very efficiently; the two cheap ones they had was this Targus and a bright blue mini GE dealybob with retractable cord that was uglier than the Targus and would be harder to use on account of smaller keys. Targus didn't mention Mac compatibility and the GE did, but I figured "Hey, it's a numeric keypad--surely they're all the same".

    Was I wrong?

    Targus's website help is pretty much useless.
     
  2. Makosuke
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #2
    Well, crud. Tried feeding the keypad to Windows in Parallels, and it worked just fine there without any drivers. Meaning that Windows' built-in HID driver knows what to do with it and OSX's doesn't. Hope Staples will take it back.

    This totally confuses me, though--why would it register a whole bunch of "clear" button presses along with each number and the minus key (only), while all the secondary keys as well as plus, slash, and asterix work normally? This some arcane side effect of Windows-compatible keyboards that I've never heard of?
     
  3. Makosuke
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #3
    Just a follow up for future reference:

    Took the Targus back to staples and exchanged it for a bargain-basement GE (yes, the lightbulb guys) mini keypad. It's sort of sparkly blue, has smallish keys, looks cheap, and while the retractible USB cord is a nice feature it's REALLY thin so I'm wary of how long it'll hold together.

    But, it works just fine, no drivers necessary. What's Targus' problem?
     
  4. tweakers_suck
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    I bought the Targus keypad and still use it today. It works fine on my PowerBook G4.

    When I first plugged the keypad in I got the same window as you -- select keyboard type. I simply closed out the window with the red circle and have never had a problem with the keypad.

    It works for me...
     
  5. Makosuke
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #5
    Huh... aint' that weird.

    You are talking about this particular model, right?:

    http://www.targus.com/us/product_details.asp?sku=PAUK10U

    USB, two port built-in hub, no calculator features, not one of the other ones. I'd have thought the thing was broken except it worked absolutely fine in Windows. And I did try it on my G5 tower, too--exact same thing.
     
  6. tweakers_suck
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Sorry. Actually the model I have does not have the hub. I don't see how that would make a difference, though.

    I think part of your problem was trying to select a keyboard type. I just closed the window because I knew the num pad wouldn't fit any of the catagories.
     
  7. Makosuke
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #7
    I'd be inclined to agree with you except for the fact that it worked fine in Windows, and the GE keypad--which comes up with the exact same window--works perfectly (regardless of which keyboard type I choose, or none at all like you did). I'd guess that when you close the select window it just picks the default.

    I note, also, that the GE one shows up in system profiler as "USB Compliant Keypad". The Targus one with the hub showed up as some sort of keyboard with an oddball chipset name and an internal USB hub.

    This isn't to say that maybe if I'd just hit the close button it wouldn't have worked fine, but I'm guessing otherwise. That of course doesn't mean that other Targus keypads might not work perfectly--they more than likely use different chipsets than the one with the built-in hub.
     
  8. Shawn Levasseur
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #8
    Solution Found!!!

    I just bought the current version of this model of Targus keypad (PAUK10U), and had the same problems. Landed here from a Google search on the topic.

    I found a solution on in the reviews of this keyboard at Amazon.com posted by someone with the username, "The Wizard":

    http://www.amazon.com/Targus-PAUK10...tBy=bySubmissionDateDescending#R30E5W6AUBQKQK

     
  9. omggirl
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #9
    working targus numeric keypad

    thank you very much for this solution!
     
  10. soundsliketunda
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #10
    Targus Keypad

    I was having the same exact problem! Thanks so much for posting that solution. It worked!
     
  11. brshort
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Location:
    Austin
    #11
    Works!

    Thanks for that great catch Shawn. Mine works now too! So nice since it's a decent, low profile little keypad. I really wanted to make it work. Thanks!
     
  12. unscriptable
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    unscriptable

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    #12
  13. ghettochris
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #13
    you have to keep the 000 key pushed down to use it on a mac... I love it. tips like this are why I love google. Led me right here and now my numpad works.
     
  14. monkee4
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    #14
    Thanks Shawn

    Finally I can use the keypad again! Thank you for posting this simple solution.
     
  15. pedm
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #15
    keypad won´t work on parallels

    Hi i have a Targus USB Numeric Keypad (AKP10US) and when I plug it to the mac it works perfectly, but when I plug it to the parallels virtual machine (windows xp) it just works the +*/ signs and the arrows. i tried to put the num lock toggle but it does not work either. I have a mac book air
    I will appreciate the help!!!
     
  16. SCSI Cat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #16
    Read Bob Snider for an even better solution;

    My summery: Holding down NumLock for 3 seconds with the unit plugged in toggles Mac compatible mode.
     
  17. Cybernose, Sep 2, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2014

    Cybernose
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    #17
    Enhanced Fix

    The 3 second toggle, while leaving the 10-key plugged-in, works great.
     
  18. jennhein
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    #18
    WOW! This worked great for my Targus number pad to work on my Mac. Many thanks
     

Share This Page