TC backup of MacBook restored to new iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jonfarr, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    jonfarr

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Portland
    #1
    I have a question regarding TC backup restore. I am planning on selling my macbook pro and going to a iMac. Can I restore my macbook pro backup from my time capsule to my iMac? Also, will all the apps still work like Microsoft office? Will it be as seamless as going from a macbook pro to a new macbook pro? (probably a dumb question, but this is the only way I have ever done it).
     
  2. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    Since there are a couple of different ways you might mean "restore", what you want to do is when you start up the iMac during its initial setup, it will ask if you want to import user data and apps from a Time Machine backup. That is what you want to do. And yes it will be okay going between machine types.

    The only thing is you will want to double check some system preferences if you copy those as well from the backup.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jonfarr

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Portland
    #3
    Ok, I only ask because I would obviously be selling the laptop before getting the iMac and wouldn't have both on hand at the same time.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    #4
    You should be fine. I set up a new iMac from a TC backup (from MBP) and it went very smooth. I also had Microsoft Office on the MBP and everything transferred over, all I had to do was reenter the key code when I opened up Excel (or Word etc) for the first time on the new computer.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #5
    You don't want to restore, you want to use Migration Assistant, which will present at the end of the setup process on the new machine. Just launch Migration Assistant and point it to your TM drive and it will import everything (check all the boxes in the MA import options).

    The only issue you will have is you will have to reenter your MS Office serial number after the migration. The app will migrate, but Office will see it is on a new machine and require the serial number.

    Other than that, it is very seamless and works well.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jonfarr

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Portland
    #6
    Awesome, thanks for both of your replies!
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Location:
    Cambridge UK
    #7
    That's exactly how I did it from my TC backup of my Macbook Air. Works very well indeed. Just be sure to do it right away before you set up any user accounts as it will migrate the accounts for you as they are on the backup.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #8

    I'll second this. I used migration assistant to move my & my wife's accounts from a Time Machine backup of my 2009 mbp to a new 2012 mac mini. Worked great.
     

Share This Page