Tell me what to buy: MBP, MP, MB or iMac.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Jiddick ExRex, Oct 8, 2006.

1. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

Jiddick ExRex

Warning, hundreds of miles of post here, read only if you're totally bored.

I have no idea if I am a prosumer, consumer, pro user or whatever.

I am a student currently working on an iBook g4 with 512 RAM. My original intentions was to sell this baby and buy a MBP next spring but I am getting more and more uncertain as time goes by and I keep using more and more applications and small 'makes your workflow work better'-widgets.

When I work (and I mean work, like really work), my iBook is hooked up to my external display and running Mail, Safari, Firefox, iCal, MS Word + Powerpoint, Timbuktu Pro (so I can see how websites look on my Windoze machine's IE), IntelliJ, OmniGraffle, Photoshop + InDesign (cs1 still), iTunes, QuickSilver, lots o' windows of BB-edit, Transmit, Adium, TexShop and some other stuff I don't remember. All at the same time mind you since I am a multitasking maniac!
    This is the stationary side of things, when I really cook it up a nudge. When I am using the laptop as a laptop, it's usually for taking notes with TextEdit, Mail, iCal and Safari and the occasional OmniGraffle/Photoshop as needed. I really enjoy the portability everywhere I go, thus I cannot live without it and carry my Book everywhere I go.