terminal at startup

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by castenholz, Nov 12, 2006.

  1. castenholz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #1
    I was trying to "tidy things up" last night, so I probably did something wrong.

    This morning, upon starting up, I got the terminal screen, which I don't know how to use and scares me to death, with this message:

    Nov 12 20:39:22 (time changes while computer is on)
    Launchd: can't exec /bin/sh for single user: No such file or directory

    Can someone help me make this go away and bring back my normal desktop?

    Thanks.
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    The "/bin" directory is normally hidden from the user in the Finder. So, if you accidentally deleted something there, you must have used some other means (like Terminal, or?)

    Can you describe how you were doing the tidying?
     
  3. castenholz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #3
    terminal at startup reply

    I was trying to make more room on my hard drive, so I deleted files that I thought weren't necessary. I also tried to use the software "Cocktail," but I couldn't open it, only preview it. It's worked in the past, but last night when I clicked on the app., it would only take me to preview.

    I also tried to use the software "Onyx," but didn't really know what to do with it.

    My computer (Powerbook G4, 10.4.8) has been displaying some .DStore items on the desktop and in the hard drive contents there are several "."items whose names I can't recall, other than kernel or mach.

    Thanks for trying to help me. I know it was a mistake to fool around with things I don't really know much about, but that's how I usually learn.
     
  4. relimw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    SC
    #4
    Well, now you'll get to learn how to reinstall the OS :)

    That message means you either deleted /bin/sh or you deleted /bin altogether... either one is a bad thing. Best bet would be to do an archive and install.
     
  5. castenholz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #5
    Oh, boy

    Well, darn it. I will do that, but I don't know how to "archive" and, by the way, I have tried a couple of times to boot from disk 1 of Jaguar, which I happened to have laying around. I have to force quit using the power button. I still get the black terminal screen and the disk won't eject.

    Thanks again.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Here's Apple's page on the Archive & Install feature. Good luck. I hope you didn't lose any important data. :)
     
  7. relimw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    SC
    #7
    "Archive & Install" is a method for updating OSX.

    It's odd that you can't boot off the CD, as you need to do that to reinstall. If you have a dealer or Apple store nearby, you might want to see if they can help you out.
     
  8. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #8
    sorry man, but it looks like you are going to be reinstalling. good luck hope you dont lose anything to important.
     
  9. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #9
    If you have access to another Mac, you can use Firewire and mount your PB in Target Disk Mode to do get your data archived. (or PC with MacDrive)

    Hope it works out OK.
     
  10. castenholz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #10
    Thanks for the helpful and sympathetic replies.

    I do have access to another computer (the iBook G4 that I'm using now). Can I user a crossover cable instead of firewire or are they the same?
     
  11. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #11
    Nope - different. The crossover is for ethernet, which won't help 'cause you can't boot... :(
     
  12. mr666 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #12
    I know this thread is old, but Jesus god almighty, tell the guy to hold option key at startup! That's how you choose the install DVD.

    Don't be timid. Just forge ahead. As you go through the screens "Agree", "Continue") you eventually come to the "Select a destination" and nothing is available to select... EXCEPT the "Options" button. Voila, that's the Archive and Install doorway.
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    You may want to check dates. The OP hasn't been around for 5 years and won't see your response.
     
  14. relimw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    SC
    #14
    >blinks<

    Really? Why do people even bother to reply to threads this old??? :eek:
     
  15. Peter Franks macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #15
    And some, not to new ones...
     
  16. Phil A. Contributor

    Phil A.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Telford, UK
    #16
    I would hope that after 5 years, the OP worked that out for themselves ;)
     
  17. mr666 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #17
    I wasn't talking to the OP. I was talking to the five posters who failed to advise him to hold option, and to anyone else who may find this old thread and think "take it to the shop" is the answer to "can't boot from CD". I began with "I know this thread is old...", so I don't need to check any dates. Sending the guy off to a shop is not good advice. First mention the option key.

    Sure, those five may also have no current activity, and they may all miss my admonition, but maybe just one will still be active in checking this forum, and read that the option key is needed to get past the "can't boot to CD" issue. When five supposed experts don't know the simplest thing about booting to an optical disc, we have the blind leading the blind.

    If you don't think anyone nowadays can possibly have this type of issue and go to this thread for advice, take the whole thread off the server. People do read old threads looking for help, and this thread wasn't much help... until now.
     

Share This Page