Terminal automatically launches seti@home

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by michaelwarren89, Apr 30, 2004.

1. michaelwarren89 macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,
    I've just started having trouble with my terminal.app (I'm still learning all the ins and outs of terminal). Normally when I launch terminal i get a window with my login shell (~ login$) and a cursor, ready for me to type. Most of the time I have a single window open running the seti@home CL, which i launch usually from the actual executable. Now when i launch terminal on it's own (from the Utils folder), it automatically launches seti@home. Even making a new shell does not stop it, it just tries to launch the file again and stops, then logs out, because you obviously can't run two setiathome instances from the same directory. I haven't done a thing to change this except installing Quicktime 6.5.1, which I'm quite sure can't be the culprit. I've repaired permissions, I've done everything, and I can't stop it from launching seti@home.

What I think may be the problem is somehow the command to launch seti@home has been added to the script that terminal uses when it launches? I'm not sure on the actual ins and outs of terminal but from my limited experience this is all I can think of.

Also one other problem, seti@home always puts its .sah files in my user directory, never the directory that I launch it from. This has been the same since 10.1 (I know use 10.3), and it's beginning to frustrate me. Is this a limitation of the seti@home client or something else?

Thanks in advance

2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89