Terminal problems after uninstalling F@H

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by nslyax, Jul 8, 2004.

  1. nslyax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #1
    I tried running F@H on my ibook, but it seemed to get too hot. I had the command line version and after uninstalling I now get ths every time I launch terminal:

    /Applications/Utilities/fah4; exit
    Nicks-ibook:~ nslyax$ /Applications/Utilities/fah4; exit
    -bash: /Applications/Utilities/fah4: No such file or directory
    logout
    [Process exited - exit code 127]


    I also had the single CPU add on of mc68k (http://calnet.sdsu.edu/mc68k/) installed, but used "rid" as instructed by the read me.

    I have checked "~/.profile" and "/etc/profile" and can find nothing that seems to call anything on start. Also, if it matters, I only have the trouble with terminal, X11 runs fine.
     
  2. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
  3. nslyax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #3
    I can't seem to find either file in my home. Unless there is a master of either file elsewhere?
     
  4. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
  5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    If you're simply looking using GUI, you won't see them since they're hidden files. Also, I think you'll want to look for .bashrc instead of .tcshrc since you seem to be using the bash shell.
     
  6. nslyax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #6
    # /etc/crontab
    SHELL=/bin/sh
    PATH=/etc:/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin
    HOME=/var/log
    #
    #minute hour mday month wday who command
    #
    #*/5 * * * * root /usr/libexec/atrun
    #
    # Run daily/weekly/monthly jobs.
    15 3 * * * root periodic daily
    30 4 * * 6 root periodic weekly
    30 5 1 * * root periodic monthly

    and no, not looking in gui, using "ls -a" in X11, which seems unaffected
     
  7. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #7
    crontab looks good. from a terminal, please execute:
    echo $SHELL

    and report back
     
  8. nslyax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
  9. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
  10. nslyax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #10
    none in home, but /etc/bashrc contains the following:

    # System-wide .bashrc file for interactive bash(1) shells.
    PS1='\h:\w \u\$ '
    # Make bash check it's window size after a process completes
    shopt -s checkwinsize
     
  11. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #11
    i don't know why that's happening. but i do have a workaround:
    % sudo touch /Applications/Utilities/fah4
    % sudo chmod 755 /Applications/Utilities/fah4
     
  12. nslyax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #12
    In Terminal preferences I changed the shell is opens, and the same thing happens. zsh, tcsh, csh, and sh, so it is presumably not related to the specific shell.
     
  13. nslyax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #13
    Your workaround would be OK, except that after calling fah4, it tells the shell to exit. When I open a new shell, the command is called again, and exits again. Hence, the terminal is useless.

    Thanks for all your help though.
     
  14. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #14
    oops.

    i think i'm out of ideas, then.
     
  15. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #15
    What instructions did you originally use to install the console version of folding@home?
     
  16. nslyax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #16
  17. cjc343 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    In the apple store, in front of a G5.
    #17
    Download fah4 and put it in "/applications/utilities" when you start up terminal, what does it say now?

    Also, where are you starting terminal from?
     
  18. nslyax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #18
    Folding at home runs now whenever I open terminal. If I quit FAH though, it exits the shell. If I open a second terminal window, it attempts to start a second instance of FAH4.

    I am opening terminal from the shortcut in my dock to the Terminal.app in Applications/Utilities.

    My real problem with this whole thing isn't that it wants to run FAH4 (ZIMV20's last post helped me around that), but that it exits the shell as soon as I leave FAH4 (notice that it says "...; exit" in the instruction).

    I am beginning to wonder if it would be easier to just reinstall Panther next weekend. Not that I need access to the Terminal that bad, but it would fix my problem.
     
  19. nslyax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #19
    I fixed it, WOOOOOOO!

    I figured it would be some hidden unix file created on the 7th, when I first started having troubles. I used the finder's find command to search for files created in the last week, both visible and invisible. I came across the "com.apple.Terminal.plist" file and decided to have a look inside. Sure enough, under one of the options, was the command "/Applications/Utilities/fah4; exit".

    I deleted the command, relaunched Terminal, and all seems fine.

    Thank you all for your time and effort.

    nick
     

Share This Page