Terrible Yahoo maps makes iPhone weather wrong

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iphnhelp, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #1
    I live in the Burbank, CA area and the weather on my iPhone has always shown my current location, using GPS, as Los Angeles, CA. And the weather is different enough between the two cities that it's getting annoying.

    I traced this back to the fact that Yahoo is providing the weather, and Yahoo uses Naveteq for maps, and Naveteq maps shows a large part of the Burbank/ Studio City area as Los Angeles. So when it seems my location in that area it looks it up on the Naveteq/ Yahoo map and it is listed as Los Angeles so it shows weather from Los Angeles.

    Very frustrating. I've used Naveteq map reporter to suggest they change it but I'm not holding my breath. Wish I could send a request to Yahoo but can't find any support site for suggestions.

    Anyone else have this problem?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan
    #2
    It's often off by 10 degrees or more here.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    #3
    Go in your weather app.

    Press the "i" symbol in bottom right.

    Press the "+" sign in upper left.

    Type "Burbank, CA" and click on it in the search results.

    Done :)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #4
    Right. But then you don't get accurate weather in the notification screen or any other place in iOS where the weather is integrated with the gps.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    #5
    Feel free to try any of the many weather apps in the AppStore then.

    There are so many they even have their own category :)
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    #6
    And even then it doesn't work right, it's always off by several degrees so I don't use the notification center for weather anymore it's just so inaccurate.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    For me, the location is correct, but accuracy of forecast is horrible. I gave up on that built-in weather app, downloaded one from App Store instead.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    The Igloo
    #8
    The op doesn't want a weather app, he/she wants apple"s default weather to be accurate so he/she doesn't need to launch an app to see the weather.

    Just another thing apple does poorly and stubbornly. It is not too much to ask that apple use a credible source for default weather.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #9
    Yahoo gets their weather data from the The Weather Channel. Have you tried that route?
     
  10. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #10
    Are you sure that what Yahoo! uses for mapping is involved in iPhone's weather app? It could easily be that the phone itself figures out the local location and then uses that to ask Yahoo!'s weather service (which uses The Weather Channel weather data) to provide the weather information for that location.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa
    #11
    Settings - Privacy - Location Services - Weather - OFF

    Now open weather app, add Burbank, drag it to the top of your list of places. Finally, go back into weather app and make sure Burbank is showing on page 1

    Close weather app. Drag down notification center. Burbank should be displayed. .

    Admittedly not useful if you travel a lot, but it's a way to do away with the GPS-dependent weather info (and associated battery hit every time you pull down Notification Center)
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #12
    While we're on the topic is there anyway to get a different notification centre widget for another weather provider?
     
  13. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #13
    nope, just what Apple provides.
     
  14. macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #14
    Odd that Yahoo uses two completely different data sources for weather...

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21375290996.250443.jpg
     
  15. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #15
    The Weather Channel owns Weather Underground, so in a sense really different weather sources.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #16
    I've recently been having the same issue...it used to work fine before and now it most often displays "Los Angeles" as my current weather location when I'm in Santa Clarita...and that's even further from Los Angeles than Burbank. What gives, Apple? I hope this is fixed in later software updates...annoying.
     

Share This Page