Test ethernet (speed)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Flynnstone, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #1
    Hi All,

    What's agood way to test the ethernet port on my G5 Power Mac SP 1.8G?

    I have other Macs on the network.

    My wife complains that the internet is slow & can't stream video.
    Th is computer is wired to a gigbit switch, then to 100 Mbit switch then to the router. I have a 24" iMac connected to same gigibit switch and have no problem with the internet speed.
    When I try to send a large file between my iMac & the G5, the transfer is slow. I checked in System Profiler and both computers detect the ethernet speed as 1000 Mbit (1gigabit or something like that).

    Ideas on how to resolve?
    Gigbit ethernet cards that will work in the G5?
    I don't have Airport on the G5.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #2
    You don't need GBit to stream videos, 2mbit is usually enough for SD and 6 mbit for HD.
    It's most likely something else that is the problem
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #3
    i agree i have 3 eMac's and 2 iMac'g3 and one mini g4 a g5 powermac dual 2.3 connected all via ethernet and all stream well if i send a video from one to another even the iMac g3 can play a divx(normal avi) video that is send via ethernet in real time

    but i can think of another reason , and that depends on the g5 if you send a 420p ..780p video and the g5 is one with a basic setup means basic graphics card and not much ram ,then it just not able to decode the video like that in realtime
    i also have a msi wind netbook hackintosh and amazingly it plays 720p video well (some of them) and if i make the test connecting only the netbook and the g5 and stream a 720p video over then the G 5 struggles too as it has only a 9600 ati radeon fitted and i asumes its the graphics card that slows things down as a normal divx streamed plays fine
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #4
    You can use a simple online speed test such as http://www.speedtest.net to determine if your G5 is able to pull the maximum bandwidth from your internet connection. If it is, then something else is amiss.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    I you have a gigabit switch connected to a 100 mbit switch then I'm pretty sure you would only be getting 100 mbit speeds. If you had extremely high bandwidth, a modem with a gigabit port, router, switch and card you would get much higher speeds.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #6
    True.
    But I have the iMac & G5 connected at 1000 mbit speed.
    the DSL modem is only good for about 3 mbit, so 100 mbit switch doesn't slow it down.

    G5 -- 1G--\
    [ 1G switch ] - 100M - [ 10/100 switch ] -- 100M -- [ Router ] - 3M
    iMac- 1G--/
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #7
    Thanks.
    Tried it with the iMac. 3 Mbit speed = our DSL link, so we're good.
    I need to test the G5 now.

    Ok on the G5 .... (drum role)
    A whopping 0.7 Mbit !

    Something is going on.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #8
    Try to connect the G5 directly to the router ( I guess thats where you have you iMac connected?) Perhaps it could be a problem with the switch.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #9
    Both the iMac & G5 are connect to the 10/100/1000 switch(A). That switch(A) is connect to another 10/100 switch (B). Switch B is then connected to the DSL router.

    Just change the ethernet cable on the G5. & connected it the 10/100 switch (B).
    Go up to about 1.7 Mbit.

    I'm thinking the ethernet net port in the G5 is dying.
    Any low cost 1000 Mbit cards for a G5?
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #10
    http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-GA311...1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1283480001&sr=8-1

    OR

    http://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Giga...2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1283479886&sr=8-2

    Should work fine in OSX without drivers but I'm not sure if they will work or not in a PCI-X which is what I believe you have. Some PCI cards work fine with PCI-X and some don't. You can get the trendnet one and try it out because its only about $6-$10. Check under system profiler to see if you have what expansion slots you have beacuse there was a single 1.8 with PCI and PCI-X.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #11
    Thanks to all.

    It was a bad cable.
    Tried more tests and got the speed to 3 mbps consistently with another cable.
    Tried the original again and it cough & sputter to < 1 mbps.
    Ordering up some new cables.
     

Share This Page