Test my Tetris on PPC!

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by jadam, Apr 14, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #1
    So could someone please test out my tetris clone on a PPC mac? Right now I only have an Intel iMac to test it out with.

    Also Feedback would be welcome :-D

    And if any good graphics artists are around, you can mess around with the data folder and change the cube graphics. If you come up with something nice let me know!

    Ooo Game is at

    http://www40.brinkster.com/cub3d/ (intel only atm :/ first and only link on the site)

    And yes its BETA, theres a bug that occur with the collison on the right side of the screen, and the game doesn't really end heh. Esc quits and the score is in binary :-D Also You get the most points for getting the most amount of lines in one go.

    P.S. SDL Framework is required.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #2
    [​IMG]

    You need to compile a Universal binary... the one in the .zip is Intel only...

    And you should probably get those kinks worked out, it sounds like it'd be really annoying to play as it is :p


    reality
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #3
    Doh! I thought XCode automatically compiled PPC and Intel for you.

    Ohh well Ill fix it up tomorrow along with those little kinksand ill add some sound ;-) Programmer sound that is muhaha.

    Thanks!
     
  4. macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #4
    It's a check box. You have to check the box. Quite easy :)
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    cowschickens13

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    memphis, tn
    #5
    yeah, id be happy to test on my PPC, just need a UB!
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #6
    Ok!

    http://www40.brinkster.com/cub3d/FallingBlocksBeta.zip

    its almost done! The bugs have been kinked out and it SHOULD work on ppc now as I did change it to build for ppc and i386.
    Enter starts a new game
    Esc Quits the game :D

    No sound or music yet although I have composed a tune for it!

    Lemme know how it works now on PPC macs.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    #7
    same error code
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Beacon, NY
    #8
    still doesn't work on ppc, same message comes up.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #9
    gah! ok lemme try to see whats up with xcode...

    It seems like its a problem with SDL... Im using the Universal SDL framework but its only compiling for intel :-/
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #10
    Just as a note, it doesn't work on my intel mac either. It doesn't open--just pops up in the dock for a split second, then fades away.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #11
    Thats probablly because you don't have SDL installed on your comp. Now to figure out how to get SDL to put itself into my .app :D

    As far as making it compile for ppc im clueless at the moment :-/
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #12
    What is SDL?

    I'd Google it, but I'm sure there'd be waayy too many results for something as vague as "SDL"...

    reality
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #13
    :D SDL is the simple direct media layer. If you did google for it you would find the SDL web site :p It's like DirectX lite.

    http://www40.brinkster.com/cub3d/ (First and only link on the site)

    Theres an intel version of the game with the SDL Framework built in so it SHOULD work on intel macs. Its not universal though still got to figure that one out.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #14
    Unfortunately im out of luck with trying to get the app to compile as a universal binary... Best I can do is a OS X Intel version. File size jumped a lot because I had to include the SDL Framework in the application. Also posted a Windows XP version.

    http://www40.brinkster.com/cub3d
     

Share This Page