thank you coward virus/worm poster

Discussion in 'macOS' started by M-theory, Feb 17, 2006.

1. M-theory macrumors 6502

M-theory

I think we should all thank the idiot who posted the virus/worm whatever you want to call it...

why?

* it shows exactly why OS X is better than windows/linux/unix/etc...the fact that a malicious script cannot be used unless the user is running as root, which for those people who got infected, have now learned.

* it shows that you have to give permission, enter the admin password, for a worm to run

Any OS can be 'infected' if you allow it...

ps it is also difficult to feel sorry for someone that entered a root password for opening a .jpeg

2. eva01 macrumors 601

eva01

no this shows why OSes are not idiot proof from their users.

"Lets double click this random file i found on a website."

2 hrs later

"OMGBBQ where did my home directory go, virus!!!!!11111oneone11!!!"

3. frenetic macrumors regular

I am no unix expert at all, but...
    First, OSX is just a variant of unix (just like linux is), so your first sentence is already utterly bizarre.
    Second, you mistake root for administrator... they are two different things.
    Three, the people that were running as administrator did not have to give their administrator password... they just doubleclicked the file and off it went. So before you judge people you better get your facts straight.

4. Kingsly macrumors 68040

Kingsly

To: OSX virus guy
    Re: Kingsly

Why? Why did you spend your precious time on gods earth making a virus that can (rather poorly) infect Mac OSX? Thrills? My friend if thats what turns you on I would suggest tying a rope to your ceiling fan and jumping off your computer. Other than proving some cocky person wrong who claims that, no matter what, OSX cannot contract a virus I don't see why you would do such a thing.
    A) Its illegal