that's it i am sick of waiting.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by juanster, Mar 28, 2007.

  1. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #1
    this morning i woke up, i ve waited for 3 months now for the new SR MB,, why i do not know, it s not like the upgrades f SR will make a difference for the things i ll be doing in my MB, which are word, macrumors, mail and itunes, im going ot go take a shower and get me a new macbook f*** this.. worst case scenario i ll sell it and get the new SR when it comes out if ever...
     
  2. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #2
    I see...should we all have a party? Honestly what you just said is comonly stated by many member of MR.


    If you can wait do it, if you want it now, and it does what you want, get it.
     
  3. skwij macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Belleville, ON, Canada
    #3
    Welcome! I decided not to wait, and am sooooo glad I didn't.

    Heck, what's an upgrade to Leopard gonna cost? Not much, and by then I'll have had my MB for at least a few months, and loving every minute of it!

     
  4. thesnowman16 macrumors member

    thesnowman16

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    I have the feeling alot of people are going to be let down by SR. It's being hyped up so much but when you really get down to it, it's going to make almost no diffence at all to macbooks (and even less to macbook pros). The people who are waiting are probably going to regret it, but that is there decision.

    Personaly I think Leopard and ilife 07 are better reasons to wait. (Software is very expencive in new zealand).
     
  5. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #5
    I think you have it backwards. The people who actually need the Pro model will benefit more than the regular macbook. Everyone is talking about flash memory caching and other stupid ********, but the biggest thing for professionals is the fact that the intel 965 chipset is fully 64-bit, so professionals who use aperture, final cut, logic, photoshop, etc. on their laptops will be able to address more than 4GB of memory. This will be a big deal and is why I'm holding off for santa rosa. I honestly don't give a damn about flash caching. You are correct though in saying that the average user who just buys a pro machine for the bigger screen won't see much of a difference, but when I'm editing HDV, having a lot of ram will make a big difference.
     
  6. thesnowman16 macrumors member

    thesnowman16

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    Sorry I didn't relize that SR was fully 64bit and would support more than 3gb of memory. In that case the MBP users who use pro apps will definaly find it very helpful. :D

    Thanks for the correction dude :apple:
     
  7. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    You won't need to sell it. Enjoy your new MacBook.
     
  8. CRAZYBUBBA macrumors 65816

    CRAZYBUBBA

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto/Houston
    #8
    I keep up my resistance by thinking about how much I'd like a 3.0 ghz mbp
     
  9. skinnylegs macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
  10. iPray macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #10
    Santa Rosa Chipset, Intel's 4th generation.

    EDIT: Here is the link for more information.
     
  11. juanster thread starter macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #11
    yeah me too i was really trying but the i didnt...oh well i don t regret it, then again it s only been 2 days
     
  12. civilizedrat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #12
    Silly Rabbit
     
  13. RojoLeo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #13
    woah, this thread was heavily moderated.

    There went my long techno-junkies, we love technology rant.

    To repost my original purpose for posting: to the OP - awesome, way to get what you want and ignore the naysayers ;)
     
  14. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #14
    Awesome! I've been waiting simply because I can't see much reason to replace my powerbook until CS3 is out (like available for purchase, ready to install on my computer, kinks are worked out kind of "out"). Then I figured I might as well wait for leopard at the same time. I guess I can add SR to the wait list as well since the extra ram would awesome.
     
  15. juanster thread starter macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #15

    Yeah that much RAM would be ***** crazy good if SR brings that to the table... i d prolly keep mine until dec or so and sell and upgrade to SR... for now im happy with my purchase,, even tho i am taking it back to the A.store today, my macbook since i opened it its making a weirs not normal loud clicking noise when i insert a cd in the slot...
     
  16. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #16
    I'm thinking about buying a mac protable today actually. I'm going to head up to the Apple store to ponder getting either the BlackBook or a MBP. It takes Apple so long to actually integrate new technology that it could be months after SR is released before Apple puts it in their computers.
     
  17. Zen.Arcade macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    So let me get this straight.... there's talk of an upcoming MacbookPro that is going to be able to pack 4gigs of RAM into it? Did I miss the news-boat on this? Where are the threads on this one?
     
  18. antonwalker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #18
    How can you edit HDV on a laptop. I would kill myself :eek:
     
  19. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #19
    Same way I'm editing it with my iBook G4. Rendering is just reallllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllly slow.

    There hasn't been any news specifically stating this. But the only reason you can't put more than 3GB of ram into the MBP now is because the current chipset is 32 bit and it can't address more than like 3.5GB of ram. The 64-bit chipset in Santa Rosa will eliminate this boundary, it you will be able to put way more ram in it. If there were enough ram slots, you would be able to put 16GB in it just like you can put into the 64-bit Mac Pros.
     
  20. Soundburst macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #20
    Are you saying Merom isn't 64Bit?

    I bought the MacBook pro Core-2-duo, and am certain it is 64Bit.
     
  21. Zen.Arcade macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #21
    Thanks zioxide - makes sense.

    The last Mac I owned (read: used) was in, like, 1991.... so I've obviously been a little out of the loop since then - mac-wise.

    In the meantime I've gone & found this article:

    http://www.anandtech.com/tradeshows/showdoc.aspx?i=2845&p=2


    This Santa Rosa jazz sounds cool. Looks like I'll be waiting for this to hit town, along with Leopard before throwing down for the MacBook Pro. It's too bad though, because I'm jonesing for a laptop now that I am constantly working from the road.

    Ahh well.... it'll just teach me patience.
     

Share This Page