The 10.3.6 b0rked my Mac Thread - If you have a problem, please let us know!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by edesignuk, Nov 5, 2004.

  1. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    I'm sure you get the idea. Any negative feedback on this update please post here :)
     
  2. monkeydo_jb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Location:
    Columbia, MO
    #2
    My, how very proactive of you.

    What do you want to bet there will still be 15 separate ones?
     
  3. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    I know, isn't it.
    Well, hopefully getting this in early there won't be, but who knows hey...
     
  4. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    Well, my Unreal Tournament demo 2004 doesn't load any more. I wanted to try the updated graphics drivers to see if there was any difference in performance but it bounces, splash screen comes up for a few seconds, and then it quits without a message. I haven't played it for a little while, but it definitely worked in 10.3.5 and I don't think it's time-limited. This is on a 12" PowerBook.

    Everything else seems fine though, and, yes, everything seems faster ;)
     
  5. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #5
    Safari is broken now. I had a developer beta of Safari installed previously.. maybe thats why. The program will launch, and i'll be able to access the menu bar, but no window will open. I'm trying to fix it now.
     
  6. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #6
    I downloaded Safari from Apple's site.. but it's an old version... so now it looks like I'm stuck with this old version.
     
  7. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    Try the update to 10.3.6 again, or else you'll have to reinstall Panther and combo update to 10.3.6 :eek:
     
  8. clr900 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    #8
    Installing right now. I'm hoping to see some improvement to this Nvidia.
     
  9. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #9
    Clever! Worked.
     
  10. robotrenegade macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #10
    Ok I was download it to my PB while i was playing a game on my G5. Then I looked over at my PB and the screen was on but did nothing. I shut it down and booted back up. I can't open System prefs and none of my icons in my top bar are there. Please help
     
  11. invaLPsion macrumors 65816

    invaLPsion

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Northlands
    #11
    This happened on my Powermac after a security update once. Perform a cold shutdown on the system and reboot. It worked for me...
     
  12. robotrenegade macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #12
    Cold shutdown?
     
  13. buzzfgo macrumors member

    buzzfgo

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Location:
    Up State NY
    #13
    I installed it and now my quicksilver will not boot at all. It turns on but the screen stays blank. No nothing. I put in a back up HD and it booted fine. Now what the heck am I going to do?
     
  14. altair macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #14
    Yer all crazy, mine installed fine.

    usually the ones who have problems have some sort of system hack installed ~~
     
  15. mslifkin macrumors regular

    mslifkin

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #15
    No problems here

    I applied it to two PowerBook G4s, a Dual 2GHz PowerMac G5, and a 1 GHz PowerMac G4. On one of the PowerBooks and my G4 PowerMac I got a kernel panic towards the end. (The PowerBook was completed, and just waiting to reboot. The PowerMac was on a KVM switch, so I don't know when the kernel panic occurred) I reapplied the update to the PowerMac G4, and all seems to be well.

    Regards,
    Marc
     
  16. buzzfgo macrumors member

    buzzfgo

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Location:
    Up State NY
    #16
    Crazy?

    Well, I was going crazy trying to find out why my mac would not start. I would hear the bong and then nothing. My studio display was black. Then I had an idea, I hit the volume key in the keyboard... what do you think I heard. Yep, my computer was running the monitor was not. I have a 9800 video card. So I put my old geforce card in and wammo it fired right up. The update fried my video card. I tried another hard drive I use as a back up and it has the older ver of panther on it 10.3.5. Still no go on the monitor. I put the old video card back in and it works. Some how it fried it.
     
  17. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #17
    rather than going throught the menu to shut down, press and hold the powerbutton until the computer shuts off, and then press it again to start back up obviously...
     
  18. toughboy macrumors 6502a

    toughboy

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Izmir, Turkey
    #18
    which is not really suggested...
     
  19. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #19
    ive done it plenty of times on my pb with no problems, its not the best solution, but sometimes the only way to get a hanging computer to restart....
     
  20. Zim Bargo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #20
    So, I've just downloaded 3.6 and now my .mac mail account is coming up with nothing. Go online, no worries - everything still there. but on my machine - nothing.

    now, go to itunes - track numbers and all kinds of things giving really odd (and wrong) feedback

    First time I've had this with an update, is this update just wrong or is something wierd going on?

    Haven't ever installed any dodgy sh*t either!
     
  21. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #21
    have you repaired permissions? seems that could help with iTunes at least
     
  22. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #22
    I would call that a hard shutdown.
     
  23. Zim Bargo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #23
    Ok, tried repairing disk permissions - no joy. My email is still up the spout. And yet I got the 'ping' when the site emailed to day you had replied - couldn't see anything, but figured it out
     
  24. Koodauw macrumors 68040

    Koodauw

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Madison
    #24
    Really? Where?

    Its there for a reason. It doesnt hurt anything.
     
  25. asmiller macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    #25
    Powerbook won't complete startup after 10.3.6

    UPdating a 1.25ghz AiBook through the Update Software panel has left me with a machine that will not complete boot process. Stops part way through with a big black rectangle and lots of messages in foreign languages saying it needs to be restarted. This after many restarts that had no effect. Booted from a CD and ran Disk Utility to repair disk and repair permissions also had no effect. Tried running the combo updater, with same results.

    Apple will be my first phone call tomorrow.
     

Share This Page