The answer to Apple's gouging? Linux!

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Pepzhez, Jul 29, 2002.

1. Pepzhez macrumors regular

How about we have a more constructive response to the piracy debate and the 10.2 pricing outrage?

It seems the best solution to circumventing piracy and forgetting all about Apple's new business scheme (gouging and even more gouging) is to forget about Apple's expensive and increasingly bloated OS and apps altogether. If we're going to use UNIX, why should we pay for it (again!) when free, entirely open source alternatives exist? I've already wiped OS 9 from my HDs and at this point, I'd really like to do the same to OS X. I know I am not alone in this - many in this and other forums have been saying the same thing. I agree that *nix systems are the future, but I really do not want it to be Mac OS X.

So who here feels similarly? I'm quite new to Linux, but the more I learn about it, the more I like it in every respect, and I'd really like to hear your thoughts on running Linux on PPC machines. I'm especially interested in anyone who has experience running both Yellow Dog and Mandrake. Which do you think is a better choice and why? Or perhaps you think there is a superior Linux PPC configuration? Also, what are your favorite/recommended Linux apps, and any other Linux PPC thoughts/observations you may have.

I'm trying to concentrate on the positive and constructive side of this issue - we really don't need diatribes against Linux's perceived shortcomings. Please no posts on how great Jaguar is/will be or "how-my-printer-wouldn't-print-with-Linux-therefore-Linux-sucks" or "Photoshop good, GIMP bad" and the like. I don't want this to degrade into a "my OS is better than yours" boasting/flaming party.

2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked

If you're so outraged about the price, what's wrong with Darwin instead of Linux?

3. Edge100 macrumors 68000

Re: The answer to Apple's gouging? Linux!