The Apple Store is down

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by Mr. Anderson, Jun 4, 2002.

  1. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #1

    Attached Files:

  2. Classic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    #2
    Please be a new device...

    Please be a new device...Please be a new device...Please be a new device...
     
  3. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #3
    u gotta love it! :D

    one of the things I love most about these announcements...is the threads started here about the AppleStore being down...makes me laugh...he he he ;)

    so what is it gonna be?! :eek:
     
  4. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    What's wrong with letting people know the store is down. Its great to know something new is on the way, especially if we get a surprise.....:D
     
  5. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #5
    We'll know within the hour :D Is Jobs giving his press conference about now?
     
  6. gopher macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #6
    I'm hoping for:

    A cell phone, PDA attachment to my iPod with a better headphone port, AM/FM/Weather Radio, and recordable tape deck!
     
  7. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #7
    Is the only change that the eMac can now be bought by anyone? :confused:
     
  8. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    Could be, but it'd be nice to think it would be something a little more interesting :D
    ...perhaps an apple PDA? (sorry eye, j/k) :p
     
  9. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #9
    It seems kind of strange that it would just be the eMac, but then again, by shuting down the whole thing and not just one section, you don't know what is going to be change. It could be anything, we'll just have to wait.
     
  10. barkmonster macrumors 68020

    barkmonster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Lancashire
    #10
    It's changed to another "please wait" message

    I went to the Uk store and it said it was being updates and should be back online in an hour, I just tried again (okay 45 minutes later is too early I guess) and it's changed to an apple logo and the message reads: "The Apple Store is temporarily unavailable due to scheduled maintenance. Please try again later."

    Now that suggests that maybe they're just doing some routine update and that the store being down means nothing. Then again, Give it another hour or so and we'll know for sure.
     
  11. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #11
    That's odd, because when i visit the page it's already been updated. Hence my previous question.
     
  12. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    Same here, it's back up, and the only difference I can see is the eMac on the main page.
     
  13. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
  14. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #14
    Wahey! There's also a public preview of QT6!!!
     
  15. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #15
    Oh cool... the eMac is available to everyone!
     
  16. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #16
    That's been up for a while now, hasn't it? I was there about 5 hours ago...
     
  17. gopher macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #17
    eMac includes 56k modem!

    Well that's cool...but only 128MB of RAM. Come on Apple, what is it with RAM? Cat got your tongue?
     
  18. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #18
    Ah crap! I'm doing a bit of reading about this QT6 preview... it was released today! Man... I was there a few hours ago. I thought it was weird, but I figured I'd just missed its release (I've been busy over the last week and I figured I missed it)

    Oh well. Anyone know if this is the version that came with the WWDC Jagwire beta? (read: should I bother installing it?)
     
  19. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #19
    Re: eMac includes 56k modem!

    I'd rather see 128MB as the base RAM only because I would upgrade it immediately to 1GB. And I'd rather have a 128MB stick leftover rather than a 256MB one.

    Besides, who'd want to pay Apple's mark-up for RAM anyways?

    My opinion is that if the RAM is soldered, then it should be big, but if it's not, then make it small (or at least give us a downgrade option).
     
  20. OSUbuckeyefan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    #20
    I think it is a great move by apple to make the e-mac available to the masses. It should compete very well with the low-cost pc's.
     

Share This Page