The Apple Store (Retail) And Their Ultimate G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Mr. Anderson, Jan 7, 2006.

  1. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    22,411
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    So I go to the Michigan Ave store today to ask about a few things - I'm going to be buying a quad G5 next week after MWSF - and I find out that they have what Apple calls their "Ultimate G5" in stock - a Quad G5, 1 Gig of RAM, 500 Gig Drive and the 7800 GT card.

    I didn't know this and I've not seen it posted here - why wouldn't they advertise that it was available? It just seemed odd to me - and the Apple employee couldn't get me a price cause he couldn't find the sheet and I didn't push - the 1 Gig of RAM was 2 512megs which is a waste of slots. I'll be getting 8 gig in mine - not from Apple.

    But what intrigues me is the possibility of going and picking one up in stead of waiting for the thing to ship - that is of course if nothing changes on Tues, which is doubtful, but I can wait a few days.

    Anyone have any thoughts on this?

    D
     
  2. macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    7,924
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #2
    Maybe each Apple store is able to sort of custom order a few computers with better specs than the usual. Then they can present it as an all in one package for their consumers without having to wait for custom built machine online. :confused:
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    MacTruck

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,242
    Location:
    One Endless Loop
    #3
    Apple sells an "ULTIMATE" version of every computer product. I personally have purchased the ultimate mac mini and the ultimate Powerbook which essentially is a hopped up version of the system, basically with more ram, better graphics card etc.. Nothing you can't get online but convenient to have at the apple store. Its a great deal except they sting you on the ram. You can usually get a better deal if you are willing to wait and order online but people like me "got to have it right nows" usually spring for it.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    thedude110

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,479
    #4
    Congratulations! I wonder if you can feel my envy from here?

    Holy ... (*wipes away drool*) freaking ... (*wipes away drool*) crap! :eek:

    That, Mr. Anderson, is a Mod's kind of machine. Do you know how fast you could load the "New Posts" page on that thing? You could outpost Mad Jew and Lacero by your "Ultimate" computing power alone. :D

    But seriously. If it were me and I had the moolah to buy immediately, I would do it. You can always pull out the two 512 sticks and sell them in the Marketplace!

    Seriously. I mean, I've never sold anything online, but back in my ITing days some jerk stole almost all the 512 sticks from our Mac lab (we assumed s/he was trying to raise some cash and not trying to produce some super-computer rooted in 512 RAM sticks). So, they must be worth something.

    Probably not what you want to hear, but "why haven't you bought that computer yet?"
     
  5. macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,460
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    what is the ultimate imac and powerbook...just asking....
    when i went to order my powerbook from the store, the guy went to check in the back to see if they have any instock of my current specs....
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,879
    #6
    Congrats...

    Well I guess now that I must have the Ultimate + iMac or :confused: :p
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    MacTruck

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,242
    Location:
    One Endless Loop
    #7

    Ultimate 15" powerbook

    1.67ghz
    1gb ram 2 x 512mb
    128mb vram
    100gb HD
     
  8. macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11,720
    #8
    What do you mean by a "waste of slots"?

    The only way to get 1GB of RAM into a PowerMac G5 is to use 2x512MB sticks. You need to install RAM into PowerMacs in matching pairs.
     
  9. macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,460
    Location:
    NY
    #9

    now that's a waste of slots.. ;)
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    MacTruck

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,242
    Location:
    One Endless Loop
    #10

    Yep. Thats why I say you eat it on the ram when you get the ultimate. Worked out ok for me though, I had two 1gb dimms from my Thinkpad that worked in the powerbook. I just stuck the two 512 dimms in the thinkpad.
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    22,411
    Location:
    VA
    #11
    They should have put 2 gigs in there - 2 1 gig cards - I'm going to be loading mine with 8 gigs of RAM so if I do buy this thing at the Apple Store I'm going to sell the 2 512s in the market place.

    As for using the Quad to post more ;) that's laughable :D

    I do 3d Animation, video and assorted multimedia - so for some of my stuff the Quad isn't even going to be enough at times, but its going to be much better than what I have now. :D

    D
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Scotland
    #12
    As far as I am aware, Apple sell "Ultimate" versions of all hardware at their stores. All these are, are non-stock hardware. For example, a 12-inch iBook with a 60GB Drive and 1GB of RAM. Or, a PowerMac with 500GB storage and 1GB of RAM.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #13
    how will you manage to use 8GB or RAM?

    i have 4.5 GB RAM in my quad and it's has never been used more than 3GB at a time

    normally, once you have 2GB RAM or more it's the hard disk speed which limits the Quad performance.

    i think you can save on getting 8GB RAM.


    of course, if in the near future we are able to load the entire OS X into the RAM instead of HD, then 8GB RAM is worth the investment but not now.
     
  14. macrumors Core

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    19,583
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #14
    He's a video editor.
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    22,411
    Location:
    VA
    #15
    Only some time - I'm more of a 3D animator - so when I load a large model or create very complex scenes in Lightwave, the more RAM the better, especially when you start talking about millions of polygons :D.

    I do the video editing on the animations and some personal stuff - it will be interesting to see how much difference the RAM makes and I might do a test or two before I install it just to see :D But the Quad itself will be a huge difference from what I have now. I also plan to get a Sony HDR-FX1 HDVCam later this year, so going to HD videos is going to make an even bigger difference - especially if I have to add 3D elements to the videos, since rendering 3D at that image size is going to bring the Quad to its knees.

    D
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #16
    The mac mini was the first Apple that I noticed was available in a retail store. Don't ever remember them carrying ultimate configurations of machines before that.
     

Share This Page