The Back to School Push for new members

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Stelliform, Aug 5, 2003.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Stelliform

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    #1
    The progress the folding team at MacRumors.com has made this year is unbelievable! We only have one threat now, and we have 6 teams in our cross-hairs. So I am proposing a back to school push for more computing power.

    We now have a whopping 200 members who regularly contribute to the team!!!!

    What I am asking is this... Why don't we have a new push where we all try and add one machine to our team. (Either by new member or by new machine to our name.) If we each found one more computer for MacRumors we would have 200 extra computers producing...

    Thoughts?!?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #2
    I tell you what--you get me a copy of OS X and I'll fold the second I upgrade ;) (I was about to at the beginning of summer until I realized the client is OS X only)
     
  3. macrumors regular

    pretentious

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Location:
    "Reality"
    #3
    I second, if someone gets me a Jag capable Mac I would be more than happy to help :)

    Or maybe a Folding client on classic so I could put my PowerBook 160 to use :D
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #4
    It'd be nice, I have a cable modem connected to my PowerBook and it's *always* on, so if I were folding, it'd be doing it full time. It's just not worth $100 to upgrade to Jag when I am trying to save up for a new 15" AlBook, which hopefully will also include Pather :D
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #5
    If there was a OS 9 client I would put it on every one of my mac. The macs might be old ( i.e 6500,6360,7100,7200 clones etc..) but they help...
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #6
    Yeah, my 400 MHz G3 with 8 megs VRAM and 192 megs RAM just bearly runs OS X, but if they made a client for OS 8/9, I'd be able to run it with no problem nearly 24/7. All I do over the summer is surf the 'net and chat, anyway, so those 400 MHz are just going to waste all day long.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #7
    Im getting 2 700MHZ eMacs this school year, and maybe more if my school got some new macs (they might get some for the video editing class that tried to share 2 emacs with 30 students). I am going to have them start up at 1AM and shut down at 5AM every day, so the computer teacher doesn't know i'm leaving them on overnight, plus 6:30 until 3:30 everyday.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #8
    I'd love to do that in the Mac lab at school, they have two rows of PowerMac G4's sitting there hardly being used, but I believe they took the HD's out and have them networked, so I wouldn't be able to install the client program on them...it's a shame, too, all these dual G4's and no one at the school seems to know how to use Macs so they are just wasted.
     
  9. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #9
    Damn they removed the hard drives?

    Unless they delete your networked documents I think it could be possible anyway... not sure you should ask mc68k, he is the expert. :p


    All of my school mac's are Os X, expect 2 iMacs which I will take from them when I get back, also I have some friends who are thinking about putting on folding to help me out... dunno tho.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    Newbee

    I just started folding saturday for 3446 as plutronics, finished 33 points yesterday and am %16.3 on my second WU@70 points! I have four other computers here;
    imac 15" flat 700Mhz - Pismo 400 - B&W 450 and a B&W 300. i only have OSX on this QuickSilver and my wifes imac, would the G3's be worth setting up with 10.2.6 and folding?
    wat say u?
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #11
    ive got a 350 g3 at work folding... seems to be doing fine.
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    Ive Added a line of code to my daily ops program to get the B&W's and pismo up to OSX Jag and start them Earning their keep. it looks like 8.6 days to run the progam, i'll start it right away! My second computer was a Apple][+ back in nov. of 1980, but i'm new to OSX, and the permisions thing is tacking some getting used to. a lot of things to relearn and feel out with one before i go and screw them all up
     
  13. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #13
    Welcome to the team

    Plutronics

    You will find it quite easy to pass users like myself, but impossible to break the top 10... :p

    If the 450 and 300 finish before the limit it is even better, then they can use the data, if not you still get the points.

    Happy folding.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    Illinois
    #14
    I've finished my first fold and am 60% on my second. I started Folding@Home running on my wife's iMac and noticed it was running the same protein as my QS. It has the same Machine id as mine so i redid hers starting from the .dmg instead of the dragged folder i used the first time. it's now running a different protein but has the same id. I'm running an ethernet cable this morning to hook hers into my network, will i need to change her id or will stanford sort it out OK?

    iMac:
    Current Work Unit Name: p910_vill_str0_rf
    Download time: August 7 18:04:17 Due time: August 27 18:04:17
    Progress: 0% [__________]
    [settings] username=Plutronics team=3446 asknet=no machineid=1
    [http] active=no host=localhost port=8080 user= pass=
    [draw] polycount=16

    QuickSilver:
    Current Work Unit Name: p638_L939_K12M_ext
    Download time: August 5 14:46:08 Due time: September 24 14:46:08
    Progress: 60% [||||||____]
    [settings] username=Plutronics team=3446 asknet=no machineid=1 local=1
    [http] active=no host=localhost port=8080 user= pass=
    [draw] polycount=16

    I have Dial-up which i connect up to each machine as needed. I'm using the GUI 3.25 interface on each. when hers finishes it's WU, I'm going to the console version because of multiple users on that machine as per another thread on this site. any opinions or help will be appreciated
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #15
    I have had that happen to me before when i tried to put folding on my brothers old iMac, but he never finished the WU anyway (it slowed down quake). Is this just luck or what, because I have 3 machines, all with an ID of 1, and they seam to work fine together.
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    Illinois
    #16
    Vlade, are your 3 all on the same network? I have three on mine, am running a line to add my wife's iMac and then building a small shelf/stan to move my pimso over to my desk with the 3 towers ( and KVM etc)
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #18
    Yup, all sharing 1 Cable connection.
     
  19. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #19
    Ech, this isn't good...

    We now only have 3 Upcoming Conquests... and Ni! is still gaining...

    Yeah, get recruting, my friend said ok, it sounds cool... so .

    :)

    EDIT:

    Recruit internally!

    I'm serious, we are decreasing in points because some of the members I see here, posting right now have apparently stopped folding...

    Not to go after anyone in paticular... (working up from 150, people who I have seen post recently):
    medea
    AmbitiousLemon (?)
    G4scott
    eyelikeart
    kishba
    MacBandit
    Shadowfax0
    Alset

    (Not Sure about Ambit. hasn't been here in a good while)
    I don't want my post to sound like a witch hunt, I know everyone has their reasons, but some of these people were people who gave to the team often.

    Basically its a plea...

    Guys, please come back, we love you and your points... please donate your extra CPU!
     
  20. Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #20
    i might have been away but my computer was still folding. i just hit 500pts when i left and its at 800 something now. so no worries.

    try to get all those new college students to install folding on computers in their new universities. that should help out. kids will be starting college the next couple months.
     
  21. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #21
    If you noticed 7/30 ---> 8/12 (during which I posed) you had not returned a WU, I must say sorry to you for saying that.

    You were working on a rather large WU, not stopping to contribute.

    Very sorry.
     
  22. Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #22
    ah. i had no idea. glad i was away, it would have driven me nuts to be working on sucha big unit. must have been a big unit indeed. how many points did that bring in?
     
  23. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #23
    i believe the biggest... 70.9 if my memory serves me... since earlier...

    :D

    Glad to see you back, where might I ask did you go?
     
  24. Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #24
    i was doing some research in hawaii (big island) for a few months.
     
  25. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #25
    Cool, sounds pretty neat!

    :)

    I'd like to go to hawaii... but that is another thread ...

    Sorry again for saying you were the idle... i had no idea, I just added
    Hadn't seen you on boards and no folding points ~ idleness, I'll be sure to do a background check next time!

    ;)
     

Share This Page