The Best Compression Software?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by WhiteKnuckles, Feb 6, 2004.

1. WhiteKnuckles macrumors newbie

Feb 3, 2004
    Inside a mac
    What is the best compression software? Stuffit? GZ? Zipit? or ???
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

Jul 17, 2002
    Re: The Best Compression Software?

Look. Your Mac ships with Stuffit Expander. Every update of MacOS X also ships with Stuffit Expander. Apple has now built ZIP into MacOS X 10.3. You just select a file and then select the File>Create Archive of "File Name" menu item to get a ZIP archive faster than you can say "Jackie Robinson." I have the latest release of Stuffit, Stuffit Deluxe 8.0.2. This is not anything to fret over. You already have as much archiving software as you need. Now run along and do some real work with your computer.
  3. WhiteKnuckles thread starter macrumors newbie

Feb 3, 2004
    Inside a mac
    Damm dont beat me with my old PC parts im a newbie broke my cherry with a G3 ibook (2nd hand) and trying to get a handle on the crossover. Seriously I appreciate all the help this forum has given me . Mac users are a diffrent breed i just needed a push in to the macworld ( not a plug) to find out for myself but im getting there.
  4. sethypoo macrumors 68000

Oct 8, 2003
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    I tried some other third party compressor/expander and it was awful. Slow to launch and do its job. Stick with Stuffit Expander. It works like a charm.

Welcome to the Macintosh community. :)
  5. ZeppelinArmada macrumors member

Mar 26, 2003
    Mostly here
    If you use the command line then you have several good options: there is the open source bzip and there is also a command line version of the rar compressor/decompressor.
    You can obtain the former through fink(99% sure its still there) and the later from Rar Labs.

Both bzip and rar have a noticeably better compression rate than either zip or gzip formats.
  6. Orleck macrumors newbie

Jan 30, 2012