The best way to make DRM tracks play on a non-Apple device

Discussion in 'iPod' started by zarusoba, Jan 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zarusoba
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    What's the best and most straightforward way to make DRM tracks play on a non-Apple device?

    I'm not trying to rip anyone off; I just want to put some MP4s that I bought on to my Sony Walkman phone.
     
  2. zephead
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    zephead

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    in your pants
    #2
    The easiest way is to buy some CD-RWs and burn the songs as an audio CD, then import them back from the CD as MP3s. Erase and repeat when necessary.
     
  3. zarusoba
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Thanks. How about going the software route? Is there freeware or shareware that will do the job?
     
  4. DaftUnion
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    DaftUnion

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #4
    If there was, Apple would update it's Fairplay DRM incredibly fast. If there was a workaround for DRM the software way, it wouldn't be called DRM in the first place.

    In short, no. At one point there might have been, but it degraded quality at the same time.
     
  5. BayouBengal
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    #5
    Look at a program called Tunebite, think of it as a digital dub. Kind of like back in the day if you needed to make a mix tape you had to dub a tape, well Tunebite does this digitally through the soundcard so there is no generation loss and it keeps the the ID3 information too.
     
  6. yg17
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #6
    FYI, you'll degrade the sound quality of the files even further if you do that.

    Yes, there is a loss because Tunebite is taking a compressed audio source and compressing it again, resulting in more quality loss.
     
  7. mkrishnan
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    Sorry... it's an always ephemeral line, but we are not comfortable discussing ways to remove iTunes DRM. You have a few practicable solutions above, please use those as a starting point and do some Googling if you need more information on this topic.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page