The Black Screen of Death!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ghall, Dec 28, 2006.

  1. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    Whenever I try to boot into Windows, it just shows a blank screen, and nothing happens. I really need to get into Windows for my school work, so I need to have this fixed as soon as possible. I don't have the Windows install CD on me.

    I know that there is some way to restore the system to it's last good configuration, but the only question is, how do I do that?
     
  2. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #2
    As soon as you choose to boot into windows, press F8 and keep pressing it and it'll bring up that menu.
     
  3. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #3
    Okay, I got the menu, and I selected the option to use the last good configuration, but I still get a blank screen.

    BTW, I don't know if this helps, but I used the new Parallels beta, and it boots pertfectly in Parallels.
     
  4. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #4
    Get to that menu and press debugging and see if the BSOD shows up and tell us what it says (Blue Screen Of Death). Otherwise try safe mode, if safe mode boots up let us know, cause it may be a video resolution issue.
     
  5. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #5
    Neither one works. I'll go back, and try every option and see if I can get something to work.
     
  6. poppe macrumors 68020

    poppe

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Hills
    #6
    I have this problem as well. I had a feeling it was coming. I think I caught a virus. Then eventually windows started to spiral down to horrible. Everything slowly stopped working. But I just gave up and uninstalled windows and will reinstall later. I tried repairing windows and everything, but sadly my keyboard wouldn't work when I tried to boot from the CD.

    One question. Why when in windows does my laptop become extremely hot? It acts like its a stove. My fan's are horribly loud. Like it literally sounds like a Dell Desktop (wind tunnel) and the metal panel abouve the F keys are steaming hot. OS X it is never even close to that. I've never even heard the fans in OS X like it is in windows
     
  7. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #7
    Oh god! I hope it's not a virus, I practically run Windows Defender every single day. Sometimes twice a day. It never finds anything bad.

    I've noticed the same heat issue in Windows as well. Must be normal, unless both our laptops have the same problem.

    Oh, but if it's a virus, why would it run perfectly in Parallels.


    BTW, I have to solve this by the New Years day because my Parallels trial runs out then, and so far, I don't think Parallels is worth my $75, so I will not buy it.
     
  8. poppe macrumors 68020

    poppe

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Hills
    #8
    Well I was downloading some risky files trying to stop my Windows Activation from expiring. See I had a copy of windows but it was so long ago I don't have any of the information. So I couldn't activate it. I looked for the activation code, but just kept finding files and fixes that seemed very fishy. I kept trying and to no luck my computer began to act fishy. Soon after the trackpad started to seem barely sensitive to my touch but in OS X it worked like a champ. Soon then after it ran very stutterly. I doubt its a virus for you though.

    Weird thing is on all my other computers I've never ever had problems with windows. All my windows for the most part ran like champs. I mean i've had my fair share of programs becoming unresponsive, but OS X has given me that as well.

    As far as parellels goes. Its definitely not for me. Only reason I run windows is for gaming. Actually for one game as of right now. I bought Age of Empires 3 for my Girlfriend for Christmas and bought myself Age of Empires 3 for me as well. The problem is that she has a PC and I have a Mac and Age of Empires 3 does not let you play with each other. So I now have to sell my OS X copy and try to find a PC version with out taking a huge loss... sucks. Oh well.

    Well keep us updated on your progress to fixing this. I on the other hand will just uninstall and reinstall until I have enough saved up for a new version of XP.
     
  9. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #9
    Well, good luck to you on that.

    I'll have access to my Windows install disk later today, so I'll see what I can do with that.
     
  10. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #10
    I got it to work! YAY!

    I repaired the installation with the install CD, reinstalled the Boot Camp drivers, and voila! The trackpad seems a little buggy now, but I don't really care.
     
  11. gka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #11
    Parallels Black Screen of Death

    I have a MacBook Pro, running Parallels version 2.5, build 3214.0, with Windows XP loaded into Parallels.

    I experienced a black screen when attempting to load Parallels, too. I'd get to the loading Windows XP screen, then all went black. I read an online thread somewhere that it may be related to screen resolution conflicts between Windows and the Mac.

    I decided to try quiting (you may need to force quit) parallels and change my screen resolution on my MacBook Pro to 1280 x 800. I then relaunched Parallels. I still got the black screen, however, I was able to access the Parallels Mac menus. I selected Parallel preferences, selected the general tab, and changed the "what to do when quitting" option to, "ask me everytime". I closed the preferences and quit Parallels (Apple key plus Q).

    I was happy to see the question, "Suspend, or Stop machine". I selected stop machine. Windows shut down properly. I then relaunched Parallels and the black screen was GONE.

    I had full functions back. It seems the screen resolution on Parallels and the Mac totally cluster fluxed the boot up process. At least that seems to have been my issue. I can't say for sure it will be everyone's issue, but it's worth trying what I did, it only took me 10 or 15 minutes. I've read many people have spent sleepless nights due the a Parallel black screen of death.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page