The classic question. Which mac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cornchild, Jan 14, 2007.

1. cornchild macrumors newbie

Jan 14, 2007
    I have been observing for 4 years the mac scene. Dreaming of switching from the pc. And now finally I have reached the point were I can purchase a mac any mac.

I do graphics design, 3d modeling, plan to run parallels, also want to learn apple script.

The question is though, Which one?

I considered:

Mac book pro:

- Has a cool design

- portable

- Would have to get used to a laptop.
    - Doesn't contain as much hard disk space.

- Again cool design
    -space saving
    - powerful machine
    - easy access to later add larger hd.
    - wouldn't have to get used to new way of computing.

- limited to 3 gigs of ram "may change soon though"
    mac pro:

- powerful machine
    - life span

- large footprint

Then the question comes of if I were going to spend the money and get a mac pro why not just get an imac and macbook? Then I would have the best of both worlds.

Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
  2. Queso macrumors G4

Mar 4, 2006
    For serious graphics design and modelling, it's got to be a Mac Pro. You may find that 3GB limit on the iMac becomes a limitation in the future.
  3. emptyCup macrumors 65816

Jan 5, 2005
    When you say you do graphic design and 3D modeling does that mean you make your living from it? If so, Mac Pro. If not, either of the other choices is fine. It is a question of whether you need portability or not.
  4. cornchild thread starter macrumors newbie

Jan 14, 2007
    I do 3d modeling as a hobby for now. If I got the imac I could get a macbook aswell. Portability is not a necessity but would be nice to have.
  5. 4nr- macrumors regular

Oct 5, 2006
    Göteborg, Sweden
    I think you should get the MPB in that case, use it in clamshell mode with an external Display, a keyboard and mouse. Just an idea.
  6. gavd macrumors 6502a

Jan 30, 2006