the difference between remote and relay airport xtreem?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lucface, Jan 20, 2007.

  1. lucface macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #1
    i dont understand the difference. it says in "help" but i dont get it. can someone please tell me as lame as posible?
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    The difference is fairly simple... A relay is everything a remote is, plus it can also host another router that extends the same network even farther, like in this picture:

    [​IMG]

    So, if you have three or more routers, you can form a chain of three of them like in the picture. Otherwise you just use remote.

    If you think of it as like links on a chain, the remotes are "ends" of the chain, but the relays are "in the middle."
     
  3. scd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #3
    This is very clear, thanks.

    But is it possible to have 1 Basestation, 4 remotes and 1 relay within a network? I know that 4 remotes is the maximum, but I would like to extend the range for 1 of them with a realy.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    I think it is, yeah -- I don't think the relays count in the number, although I could be wrong.
     
  5. lucface thread starter macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
  6. scd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #6
    Unfortunately you are wrong. I've tried this, but you can only have 4 relay's and/or remotes :mad:
     

Share This Page