"the disk you inserted is not readable by this computer"

Discussion in 'macOS' started by fowler., Dec 1, 2005.

  1. fowler. macrumors 6502a

    fowler.

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #1
    [​IMG]

    This is what greeted me tonight when I hooked up my ext. hd to my powerbook. I've tried techtool pro and the drive isn't even showing up in their data recovery options.

    I didn't hit initialize, just cancel... not sure what happened.. but this isn't good at all. Every piece of critical data I have is on that drive. I know I can get it back if I spend some cash.. but that I don't have right now.

    Any suggestions as to how to remedy this?
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    Was this drive format supported by Mac OS X previously?

    The lack of information makes it difficult to give you any advice.
     
  3. fowler. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fowler.

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #3
    yeah, it's a 160gig lacie drive that i've used with osx for nearly two years.

    i've never had any problems with it before. and some how magically today, whilst not even hooked up to a computer, it goes bad.
     
  4. fowler. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fowler.

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #4
    n/m, data rescue II seems to be doing the trick. thankfully i have an extra hd of equal size. unfortunately, it's a lacie, so it's bound to explode and send shrapnel through my eyes as everything is transferring over.
     
  5. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #5
    1) Acquire Disk Warrior.
    2) plug in drive
    3) click "Ignore"
    4) run disk warrior
    5) Hopefully, disk warrior will be able to rebuild the directory and you should be able to mount it again.
    In the future, be careful to avoid disconnecting firewire drives while there's disk activity in progress. I'm not saying that's what happened, but if it did, that might have had some part in this.
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    It's the insides, not the outsides, that count. LaCie was a Quantum subsidiary but since Quantum was bought, the quality issues for Quantum have become bad, though not as bad as Western Digital.
     
  7. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #7
    That's a very good point. Many people are under the misunderstanding that Lacie manufactures their own hard drives - they don't. I believe they have been known to use Maxtor and Seagate drives. Something to consider when making a purchase, that's all.
     
  8. fowler. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fowler.

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #8
    I understand, I was merely pointing out the fact that since the Lacie crashed and is transferring to another hard drive of the same psuedo brand, something catostrophic was going to happen.

    I've always been a fan of their company.
     
  9. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #9
    Sorry, should have clarified, I meant some people in general don't know that, not necessarily you - apologies. ;)
     
  10. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #10
    I got that message the first time I tried to have sex with a woman.
     
  11. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #11
    Hahaha - nice one iGary. Ah, the forums would be a boring place without ya around.... ;) :cool:
     
  12. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #12

    :p :D :eek:
     
  13. Sic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #13
    i got that when my girlfriend dropped 3 full lever-arch files on my ext. hard drive. only solution was to format it. disk warrior didnt want to play with it. disk still works now though
     
  14. EGT macrumors 68000

    EGT

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    #15
    LOL! :D
     

Share This Page