The dreaded "?" flashing icon

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Martika, Jul 20, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    #1
    When I try to start my G4 from a CD, I follow normal procedures. Restart holding down the "C" key. When I do this, I get a flashing "?" and it stays there, won't do anything else.

    Can someone help me?

    :confused:
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    Don't know for sure but figured I'd throw this out...

    Is the CD bootable? If not that might be why.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #3
    maybe try holding down the option key? if memory serves, that allows you to pick from a list of bootable options (various OS installs, and mounted discs).

    could be wrong though... that might be an old one. i'll have to give it a shot now...

    matt
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    #4
    Flashing "?" Icon

    Yes, the CD is bootable. I am trying to boot from my Norton Anti Virus CD as instructed, but when I do, as I said I get this flashing folder with the "?" on it.

    Thanks for the replies so far, anyone else, feel free to HELP! :(
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #5
    Is it the store-bought original copy of Norton Antivirus, or a burned "back-up" copy?

    Also, what OS are you running?

    Lee Tom
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #6
    yeah, i checked, and it's deff. hold down the option button to get a list of bootable devices... if the cd isn't coming up, your mac seems to think it's not a great idea to boot from it...

    not sure if this still holds true today, but a good pram reset used to take care of issues like that for me on older mac hardware... not sure if it'll help here, but it certainly won't hurt anything. hold down apple option p and r keys on startup, and let it chime... keep holding the buttons down for a total of at least 3 chimes.

    then hold down the option key at startup and see if the cd is listed as a bootable device.

    good luck!

    matt
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    WA
    #7
    I have seen this before. If you have more than one start up disk, choose the Mac OS X disc when restarting your mac. The computer is confused about which start up disk to use. If you have mac os 9 on your HD it may be trying to use that.
     
  8. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #8
    How old is your computer, and how old is the copy of Norton? I believe that you need to have a copy of Norton at least as new as your computer (ie. the OS on the CD must be at least the same version that came preinstalled on your system).
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #9
    Duff-Man says....(edit - nevermind....nermal just said what I said!).....oh yeah!
     
  10. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #10
    Simple that the Norton CD and place it into the wastecan. Problem solved.
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #11
    Others have some great suggestions.

    If all else fails, I have done the following which sometimes will work.

    Turn off the Mac. Disconnect the power coord. Turn on the power button a couple of times.

    Leave off for a couple of hours.

    Reconnect power cord and boot.

    Again, sometimes this works when all else fails.

    Sushi
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    Exactly what I was thinking. It solves this problem, and the numerous others that NAV would have caused if the computer had booted.
     

Share This Page