The first few minutes in XP, viruses, adware, spyware.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by diametric, Aug 18, 2006.

  1. diametric macrumors regular

    diametric

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #1
    Bah! This is the reason I switched. Never going back in there unless I have to. The viruses won't touch my Mac Partition will they? I formatted using NTFS.

    /rant end.
     
  2. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #2
    you've only been using windows a few minutes and you have viruses already? you must be doing something wrong. stick with a mac.
     
  3. quicksilver77 macrumors 6502

    quicksilver77

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
  4. knopix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #4
    You're not using IE are you? in that case you have no excuse.
     
  5. jamesW135 macrumors 6502a

    jamesW135

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #5
    I Installed windows and noticed my mac going a tad slower than usual. This was probably normal but it gave me an exuse to uninstall crappy windblows.;)
     
  6. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #6
    When installing Windows on any system, it pays to:
    1. Download the install files for AVG free, Spybot, and Ad-Aware using a secure computer like your Mac, and copy them to a USB drive or CD-ROM. Pre-SP2, I would have also recommended a firewall like ZoneAlarm. I don't think you need this with SP2.
    2. Either do the installation behind a router, which will act as a firewall, or disconnect the computer from the network.
    3. On successful installation, install AVG, Spybot and Ad-Aware.
    4. Make sure the firewall is at its must secure settings. Connect to the internet and run software update from IE.
    5. Close down IE, AND NEVER USE IT AGAIN EXCEPT FOR SOFTWARE UPDATE.
     
  7. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #7
    Um are you directly connected to the internet on a broadband connection? I would never connect a PC to the internet directly, always through a router with its firewall connected. I use IE occasionally on my PC and never have any problems (I don't run any virus protection stuff). You just have to be careful, which 99% of PC users aren't and that's why they get this crap.
     
  8. Sam* macrumors regular

    Sam*

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    You were obvioulsy doing something wrong to have viruses, adware and spyware in a few mins,

    What did you go go on porn sites and such things like that which are full of *****,
     
  9. Yvan256 macrumors 601

    Yvan256

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    To be honest, an unpatched Windows XP install connected directly to the internet without a firewall will get infected, with no interaction whatsoever from the user.
     
  10. contoursvt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #10
    This is true, but as long as someone does a small amount of research, they can avoid problems. I actually dont run AV on my computer. Once a month I go check online using trend's housecall and I always come up with no viruses.

    I dont surf porn or download warez on the box or go to suspect sites or open emails with attachements from people I dont know. Been running for 1.5 years with no AV. I do have a firewall/router which is a must and I'm always patched (router is a sonicwall btw).
     
  11. darwen macrumors 6502a

    darwen

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    California, US
  12. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #12
    Ok I was going to attempt bootcamp/parallels but this has changed my mind! Too much hassle
     
  13. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #13
    It takes a total of 10 Seconds before you can be infected.
     
  14. iUserz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #14
    I can't remember which virus, but the good ol one that says 'your computer will restart in 60 seconds', if you don't turn off the vulnerability before connecting to a network/internet connection it can happen in less than 5 minutes.
     
  15. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #15
    Most of those stories involve pre-SP1 computers. I remember reading about the Blaster Worm in the paper on a golfing trip, and laughing at all the people who didn't already download that patch.

    And this was 2-3 weeks AFTER Symantec had been screaming about this all over the 'Net. After SP1, the Blaster worm hot-fix was already included. And likewise, with SP2 Integrated, you have even less to worry about. What I think MS should do is to make sure XP Vanilla's and XP SP1's are no longer being sold anywhere. Installing outdated software is a big no-no...but then again, I doubt MS will really care to make an effort to prevent this.
     
  16. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #16
    Yes, before SP2 and the firewall being active right away, the newspaper USA Today said that their Windows XP machine was completely turned into a zombie in about 4 minutes.

    It always pays to prepare to protect yourself.
     
  17. iUserz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #17

    and what about the people who bought their machine from dell before SP2 was released? should dell be shipping out SP2 disks to replace all the SP1 disks out there? whenever I reformat my PC i disconnect it from the network before i set it up, but I still have to go online to download virus software, upgrade to sp2 and install windows defender...by the time i've installed the stuff i scan it and i'm already infected!
     
  18. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #18
    You'll either need to burn a CD that has those tools on them so you won't have to connect to the internet the next time that you reformat, or use a DSL/cable router that has a firewall built in.

    I can't believe that people still connect their systems (regardless of the OS) directly to the Interent! :eek:

    It's cool how Vista and the latest Server 2003 won't allow any incoming connections to your computer until after you've told it that it's OK, although it'll let YOU make outgoing connections. You can Windows Update away and nothing on the Internet can connect to you. :)
     
  19. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #19
    This is another thing that MS should provide to all its users...but of course doesn't.

    Autopatcher.

    Self contained program that has all the patches/hot-fixes/etc. that MS would usually force you to download through their Windows Update website. Again, why MS doesn't give users this option in the first place is beyond me.
     
  20. iUserz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #20
    yup, I do that, but unfortunately not everybody knows to do that =/

     

Share This Page