The little icon thingie.. How to implement it?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Computer_Phreak, Mar 17, 2003.

  1. Computer_Phreak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    #1
    Ok.. How do I add a tiny little icon that several browsers use when you put them in your bookmarks?

    See picture:


    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  3. Computer_Phreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    #3
  4. scem0 macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #4
    And there is a section of the MR forums specifically for aswering
    quesion and other help related topics entitled Mac Help/Questions
    and tips. ;)
     
  5. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #5
    Actually, in case you're doing it on a mac, you don't need .ico files, you can use .gifs - just make sure they're the right size and link them in you <head> as per the instructions.

    D
     
  6. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    Interesting point, dukestreet. I've never tried using gifs.

    GraphicConverter can output .ico files just fine, and that's what I've used on Apache on Mac OS X.
     
  7. Snowy_River macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #7
    I used the header link as defined in the MS page...

    I've got it working in Safari, but it still doesn't explain two things:

    First, why isn't it working in IE or Camino?

    Second, why is it that so many of the web pages that I've looked at the source for, which have favicons, don't have the above link tag in the header (including MacRumors)? How are they managing to get their favicons?

    Anyone have any ideas on these?
     
  8. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    Hmmm, the version of Camino I'm using supports them just fine. You might try emptying your cache and history. I had to do that to get Safari to see my new one when I updated it.

    IE doesn't support them at all, so that explains why you're not seeing it there.

    As far as not linking explicitly, most servers will automatically put one in if it's called "favicon.ico" and is in the server's root directory.
     
  9. jimthorn macrumors 6502a

    jimthorn

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA, USA
    #9
    That's interesting. I didn't know that. I'll have to try it...
     
  10. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles

Share This Page