The Mac 10.4.3 Firewall, do you use it?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by DSL Steve, Dec 22, 2005.

  1. DSL Steve macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #1
    I had to ask since I noticed it was OFF by default on my daughters new PowerBook.
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Yes. I don't know why computers ship with it turned off. :(
     
  4. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #4
    I only turn it off when I do some FTP stuff...for some reason Transmit doesn't like it.
     
  5. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Depends on if you're doing passive or active FTP.
     
  7. dornoforpyros macrumors 68040

    dornoforpyros

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #7
    Yup I just keep mine off, except of course with the same FTP problems others have described, I just turn it off breifly for work in dreamweaver & such
     
  8. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #8
    I mostly keep it off since I'm behind a hardware firewall. And at school I just forget to turn it on most of the time.
     
  9. yoda13 macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    I used to keep mine on all the time, but I was having problems with my internet connection on my 15" powerbook. I went through all sorts of crap to fix it, and finally someone suggested turning it off, I did, and now it runs smoothly and has for a while....--knocks on wood--.

    I still have it turned on in my PowerMac and iBook though. I don't know why there would be a difference, but whatever.
     
  10. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Haven't used it for a while, no reason for me to.

    I just trust the firewall on the router to do its job.
     
  11. PhilaScott macrumors regular

    PhilaScott

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Location:
    Suburban Philadelphia (Drexel Hill, PA)
    #11
    Yes, I have mine on. ...and I haven't encountered any problems yet.
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    Mine's on all the time. I've just opened the ports for a couple of services. I just use the built-in System prefpane, haven't bothered with the whole ipfw config from Terminal, yet, anyway...

    It doesn't interfer with ftp in Terminal, nor in Cyberduck or Dreamweaver as I've sat that those to use passive ftp. :)
     
  13. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
  14. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #14
    I don't use mine on any of my computers, I really don't see the point hence the reason I'm on a Mac.
     
  15. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #15
    Same here – I just have mine switched on, with a couple of ports open, and don't worry unduly about it.
     
  16. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #16
    not good enough, i've always thought. i love little snitch though :)
     
  17. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #17
    I never have it on. Waits for hackers with big bat in hand.
     
  18. iHateWindows macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
  19. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #19
    I have mine on and I have Stealth Mode on. I figure that if it's there, why not use it? I don't have any problems with it.
     
  20. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #20
    i used to use Zone Alarm on my pc until I got a sonicwall router. Since I got my ibook after that, I have never used the Mac firewall.
     
  21. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #21
    I have it on but it chokes while FTP'ing so I turn it off for that. I have a port open for my torrents. ;)
     
  22. rasp macrumors regular

    rasp

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Easthampton, MA
    #22
    I've only turned it on when I've been on untrusted networks. Really though, at the moment, I don't think it's terribly necessary, but *shouldn't* hurt in most cases to have it on all the time.
     
  23. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #23
    I have it off, because I have a hardware firewall.

    I despise the firewall built into Trend antivirus on Windows - it turns itself on without asking. I remember installing Trend AV on a headless system via remote desktop. Near the end of the installation, the firewall automatically enabled itself and therefore blocked my remote access :mad:

    I was also trying to set up a network for a friend. I got it network all working, then the next day they ring up and tell me they can't see the other computer. It turns out that McAfee's firewall automatically switches itself back on when you reboot! I ended up having to uninstall the thing to stop it from loading (the system is not connected to the Internet).
     
  24. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #24
    Even though I have a hardware firewall I keep the OS X one on, well its there and its not interfered with anything I use
     
  25. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #25
    I have it on with only the ports I need open. My school has a firewall, but I don't know if it protects the network internally. I work for ResNet so I know what gets on students systems. At home I the DSL modem I use has a built in firewall, but its so confusing to configure that I gave up.

    Hardware firewalls are better, but when you can't control them, I start to feel uncomfortable.
     

Share This Page