The man who wants it all, but can he ????

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by igmolinav, Aug 16, 2005.

1. igmolinav macrumors 65816

The man who wants it all, but can he ????

Thank you very much in advance for all your help.

I have recently decided to buy an apple laptop. I am not sure yet, if it will be an ibook or a powerbook. I am only sure it will be apple, and still this decision has me a bit worried.

I have used a PC most of my life and I wonder how easy, seamless, and succesful is to run programs made for PC on an apple. My major is economics, so I need to use excel, and other PC based programs for finance, economics, math, and statistics on the computer. The question for me is, is it really possible to succesfully run programs made for PC on an apple, can one do that on any of the current models for apple laptops or should one wait up until the apples with the intel processor come out to the market?

If that can be done with what is currently available from apple, I would just go ahead and buy the latest update of either the ibook or the powerbook. However, I see that for whatever money you spend on a 12” powerbook, you can get a larger size ibook and a lot more ram. So what is so special about the powerbook anyway, if I can get a much more equipped ibook for the same I’d spend on the powerbook? People tell me it is better, but could you please tell me a little bit more how will it benefit me choosing a smaller powerbook with a little less ram over a much more equipped ibook.

Thank you very much for your time and kind attention to this matter. All your help is really appreciated since whatever computer I choose will be for me a major decision that will have to last me for at least four years.

Ignacio Molina : ) !!!

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew