The only game I'd want to play on a MB... Halo. Any chance?

Discussion in 'Games' started by mattcube64, May 22, 2006.

  1. macrumors 65816

    mattcube64

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Missouri
    #1
    I'm not much of a computer gamer, I have an old PC and whatnot. I prefer console games, and that is where I spend 99% of my gaming time. However, if I were to buy a MB, I'd want something to play. Specifically, Halo. Now, I don't expect it to run amazing or anything, but if it's playable around 20-25 FPS on medium settings, I'd be estatic. Any chance.

    I know everyone asks for opinions on different games, but Halo is an older title, but I know is still quite demanding. Any oppinions appreciated.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    MacsomJRR

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego
    #2
    I think the MB has a VRAM of 64 megs which should be fine for Halo. I used to play this game on my PB G4 1ghz with 64 megs and it ran OK but not great.
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    The MacBook's intel integrated graphics have 64 MB of shared system memory.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #4
    You should be able to play Halo okay on the MacBook. I doubt you will get the absolute best performance, but game play should be at least enjoyable.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    hmmm...maybe

    I first started playing halo on my dell inspiron w/integrated graphics--you could play decent frame rates, but you lost alot of detail and get this players didn't have colors. Thats right it wasnt red v.s. blue it was mostly grey on grey!:eek:

    Its funny when i think about it now, but you could not tell anyone apart--unless they were shooting at you. Thankfully I moved to a new machine.

    So its playable, and since this is a newer intel chip you may not run into the problems I had. Just make sure you got plenty of Ram.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #6
    I played it on a wintel machine with 1.25 gig ram with 64 shared video. I just lowered all the glossy armor settings and whatnot and it played really smoothly. The graphics weren't stellar, but overall gameplay was great!

    I think you should be fine.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    jamesi

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Davis CA
    #7
    you will prolly be able to play it fine on the lowest settings. turn everything down all the way and you should be good
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    RollTide

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    #8
    My friend and I were messing around with his new macbook (2 Ghz 1.5 gb ram) and Rise of nations was great even under rosetta, and Halo worked good also But like many said just turn settings down a little bit.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #9
    I play Halo on a 12" PB with 1.5GHz G4 and it runs great. Doom 3 actually runs great on my PB. I guess I've got a special machine.

    Daniel.
     
  10. macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #10
    PB had an actual GPU (12" had the 5200Go, if I recall). The MB has integrated Intel graphics, which is pretty much teh suck for gaming.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #11
    Master Chief is my homeboy. :D

    It should run fine as long as you bump down some of the settings.
     
  12. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #12
    Yeah, it shouldn't be too bad, it is 2 1/2 years old now. Once the universal version comes out, it'll be even better :)
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    #13
    or he could play on windows.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #14
    i run Halo on:

    Pixel + vertex shading on (detail objects)
    no FSAA
    low lens flare
    model detail high

    1024x640
    30FPS
    no specular
    no shadows
    decals on
    particles high
    texture quality high

    sound quality medium
    sound variety medium

    all on a baseline MacBook (1.83, 512MB) and it runs acceptably. But i still prefer it on my parent's MBP :p
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    ahh, some real numbers and settings! Cool, thanks!!;)
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #16

    -Thanx for info that's not bad at all, alot more than I was able to get out of my dell laptop. He can probably run Call of Duty and Unitrd Offensive pretty well too.
     
  17. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    Just posted my results from playing Sims 2 & RCT3 & Battlefield 2

    MacBook with enough ram has no problem playing games. People need to get over themselves and experience it, rather than just assume.
     

Share This Page