The Portability Issue

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Nereus, Sep 14, 2005.

1. Nereus macrumors member

Hi everybody!

Pleased to meet you. I have been lurking around these forums for some time now, just reading, and now I've a small dilemma – I’m counting on you guys. ;)

The situation is that I’m a law student and I need a new laptop for writing papers, browsing the web, some light photo manipulation (Photoshop) and web development. This time I’m going for a Mac – I’ve been tempted to switch for a very long time now. I want something new and different that does the job and just works (enough).

I would like to be able to bring my laptop to a lecture, to the library, to a meeting and so on, but the issue is that I will replace my desktop with this laptop – I will use it as my main computer. I’ve decided to go with the PowerBook because it has a faster processor, faster HD, better GPU support and, most important for me, DVI, which allows me to connect my laptop to an external screen when I’m at home. I’m leaning towards the 12” because of the portability and cheaper price, but how important is portability anyway? I’m having some second thoughts about replacing my desktop with merely a 12” laptop and the fact that I can get a great discount through my school, which would allow me to buy the 15”.

So I’m standing in front of a small predicament here. If I would buy the 12” I would also get an external screen, but if I choose to go with the 15” that won’t be necessary. Anyhow I will wait until after Apple Paris Expo next week before I’ll place my order and see what it will bring.

Any thoughts? Suggestions?

2. Ashapalan macrumors 6502a

i can see the problem...
    the 12" would be great for the lectures
    the 15" would be great for your desk

I have a rev d 12", when im around and about i really appreciate it's small size and that extra bit of battery.