the question is, how much memory does the iPhone 4 have?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by aleni, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    erf
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
  4. macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
  5. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Its really a moot point isn't it. I mean people are going to buy the iPhone regardless of how much ram it will have.

    Besides, the specific technical specification will be posted on apple.com either at time of pre-order (next week) or when its available. Either way you'll know the answer to your question shortly.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    I'm fairly sure Walt Mossberg will get an early unit for review. But, we might have to wait until after the launch for the teardowns.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #7
    guess i have to wait till the end of june. btw i wish it is 512mb to make safari not reloading the damn tabs again.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Apple has probably found some way to make it speedy with the new A4.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #9
    speedy? yes it is very speedy, just like my iPad, but the lack of ram makes safari keeps reloading the tabs.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #10
    Actually not true according to peeps who have installed ios4. Persistent state thing solves thAt.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Davvido

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    Poland
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    If it had 512MB you can bet Steve would have presented it as x2 working RAM on his keynote speech presentation.

    Sadly I think it has the same feeble 256MB as the 3GS. :(
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #13
    holy crap! you are right! i just realized my 3GS with OS 4 GM fixed that. i tried opening 4 tabs, then switch to play ninja trees for couple of minutes, and switch to safari to check the 4 tabs, it's not reloading the tabs! this is awesome! thanks! i guess 256mb is plenty enough for the time being :D
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    #14
    But will it be in six months, or a year, or two years? Will it limit the potential for apps moving forward?
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #15
    In a year Apple wants you to buy a new iPhone ;)
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
  17. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #17
    Yes they are and they have succes this far making me broke every year buying 2 iphones for me n my wife :(
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #18
    that's it?

    I know it's a smart phone but in this day and age 256mb is really barely adequate when taking into account what wil be coming down the pike in the next 18 months or so. I really don't know how the next chip will effect the phone's ability to load APPs but I am sure there is a marked improvement. Planned obsolesence aside, what is the reason for not making it 512k???
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    dieburnbot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #19
    Probably couldn't fit more ram chips in there or something it is "packed to the gills" or maybe it's a price issue. OR they wanted to save something for next year.
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    kernkraft

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #20
    It's the same as in the iPod Touch, the iPhone 3GS and the iPad: 256MB.

    With the iPad, Apple set the stakes so low that they would look foolish if they released a smart phone now with more memory than the iPad.

    I think most Android phones now come with 512 MB (and have been for a while).

    Whoever said that it was moot - :D :D :D Of course, it's a moot. Everything is relative.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Mechelen, Belgium
    #21
    The RAM is packaged on the A4 chip (PoP), so there is no simple or easy way to add more RAM. Also there is absolutely no need for more, because the way they implemented multitasking doesn't keep the apps in the background loaded in memory.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #22
    This is an interesting topic. I've been wondering how the iPhone handles the storage and launch of various complex apps when it has only 256M of RAM. And I'm curious how Android phones handle the same issue.

    The EVO has 512M of RAM, 512M of ROM, and 8GB miniSD (expandable to 32GB).
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    TroyBoy30

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
    #23
    well I saw a graph yesterday from here or HOFO that showed it had 512
     
  24. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #24
    yes but no one knows. that is all speculative. they made that unknowingly. i honestly think apple has 800/256. they would have mentioned 1 ghz if true. it makes no sense for them to put 512 in iphone while leaving 256 in ipad.....
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #25
    It really has sense to have more RAM. It is the first iDevice with multitasking, iMovie video recording and editing. I am sure iPad will be getting the same upgrades soon. It would be nice to have 512 MB, because in a year many apps will probably be using more RAM. With the higher resolution display, apps will get bigger.

    Aren′t other phone makers putting more RAM as well, like 1GB? And I think that RAM is not expensive nowadays. I am not sure, I haven′t been buying it lately.
     

Share This Page