The Quicksilver Thread

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by codycartoon, Oct 21, 2003.

1. codycartoon macrumors regular

Sep 13, 2002
    The Quicksilver is in my opinion the best looking powermac ever. Not to mention the 867 G4 supplies me with more then enough speed, and i am a filmmaker. I have had it for about 2 years and it has been solid and reliable.

Any Quicksilver peeps around? Any upgrades?

G4 867
    80 gig HD
    60 gig DV
    256 MB Ram
    15 inch Apple Studio Display
    Sound Sticks

2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

Mar 25, 2002
    London, England
    Yup, love my QuickSilver :D DP 1GHz / 1GB RAM / 80GB HDD / GF4MX :eek: / Dual Screens / SuperDrive
  3. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

Jan 11, 2002
    Los Angeles
    I like the QS more than the MDD, but the first time I saw the G5 in person I was like Home Simpson seeing his first doughnut.

4. reflex macrumors 6502a

May 19, 2002
    Wouldn't that be Homer Simpson seeing his second dougnut? :D
  5. Mblazened macrumors regular

Dec 20, 2002
    The Valley
    The quicksilver 2002's are the most stable, solid machine apple has built, let alone the most beautiful.

I rarely see these machines in for service. The only thing that ever goes bad is the power supply, which is about the cheapest part you can replace.

Congrats to anyone who owns these babies. They will serve you well.

quiet, too!

6. G5orbust macrumors 65816

Jun 14, 2002
    Yep, thats me. *raises hand*

933 MHz
    1024MB RAM(standard 256+ 256+ 512)
    60GB HD (the original shipping HD)
    80GB external Firewire HD
    Geforce 4 Ti 4600 (Apple model, self-installed)
    Super drive
    17 inch Apple Studio Display
    Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 speakers
    Running: Mac OS 10.3 Beta 7B85

I have a 19 inch CRT, but the thing weighs 60-70 LB (maybe even more!) and it started to break my computer table. I have to take it off and its now sitting in a closet. That reminds me that I need to replace my comp desk...