The real reason you shouldn't operate the PowerBook with lid closed

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by alex_ant, Aug 22, 2005.

1. alex_ant macrumors 68020

alex_ant

It's not heat...

The LCD in my nearly 4 year old TiBook was never that great to begin with, but after all this time it's dim as hell and looks like total ass. So I got a nice LCD monitor and I made a little pincer-stand to hold the TiBook upright next to it with lid closed... which I've been doing for the last 2 months. Well, today I open it up for some maintenance only to discover that the whole inside of the machine SMELLS LIKE BODY ODOR!!

Now I'm a very clean person. I wash thoroughly every day, sometimes twice a day. But it appears that the oil and bacteria from my fingers, in this warm environment, has found ideal conditions in which to flourish... an environment that is in fact just like an armpit. Cuz that's exactly what it smells like.

I wonder if Speed Stick would harm the key caps?

2. .Andy macrumors 68030

.Andy

I almost threw up in my mouth.

*NOTE TO ALL*
    Do NOT buy a TiBook from alex_ant if it appears in the marketplace....

;)

3. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

Heb1228

Guess you'll just have to take the PB to the shower with you. J/k. Thats really wierd. You need to get that fixed because if I sat beside you and smelled that, I wouldn't believe you when you told me it was your computer.

4. California macrumors 68040

California

Buy a new keyboard for the old lady and get an iSkin. You can wash it when you need to, which sounds like every time you bathe!

5. California macrumors 68040

California

Do old Tibook screens really get dim and why? and what model do you have 400 500 550?

6. After G macrumors 68000

After G

OP: Cleaner + Febreze, and maybe some silica? (silica = the moisture removal packets in shoe boxes and beef jerky)

California: All displays get dimmer as the backlight ages, not just TiBook screens.

7. iEdd macrumors 68000

iEdd