Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Pheomixer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2013
Nara, Japan
I would like to know what would the estimated resale value of the fully spec'd-out 2012 27 inch imac with a 1tb fusion drive, 8GB of ram, i7 processor, and with a 680MX graphics card be in 3 years time.

I'm studying in Japan right now and I will leave this country after my 3 years of study here.

In US dollars I think it's probably around $2,600? (I'll buy it in Japanese yen of course) And would the resale value be lower if I have the i5 instead? I plan to do video editing, photo editing and occasional gaming. Although I might not use this machine to game a lot, I would like to run games like Batman Arkham City and Battlefield 3 in a good frame rate. That's the reason why I changed my mind from the base-line 27 inch to the higher end 27 inch. Since I will be spending quite a lot of money, I think it would be best to buy the better graphics card also.

I just don't want to spend too much and then realizing that I won't get much in return after selling it. If the resale value is too low, I might spend less and get the higher end 21.5 inch with fusion instead. (Not sure about the resale value with this spec though)

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Spink10

Suspended
Nov 3, 2011
Oklahoma
You will take a big hit - why?

95% of people looking to purchase a used iMac dont care that is is the highest spec'd - they also are purchasing use because $ is a major factor. (The want the base 21.5 iMac because its the cheapest way to get an Apple iMac)

The % of lost from a base 21.5 and a spec'd 27 may be similar but the total $$ extremely different because of price.

Look on eBay at iMac that are 3 years old and see what they are selling for.

This is my experience buying and selling MBP's on CL and eBay.

boy-better-know

macrumors 65816
Jun 30, 2010
England