The Sandwich thread!

Discussion in 'Community' started by MOFS, Mar 1, 2005.

1. MOFS macrumors 65816

MOFS

Ok people - here's my dilemma.

Basically I'm a student one, and a lazy one at that (at least when it comes to food). But I am normally at university for my lunchbreak, which means I always need to have some kinda food with me. I'm skint, so I can't afford to buy sandwiches from shops (a sandwich costs normally at least as much as 2 loaves of bread!), and I'm trying to eat healthily, which is why I started this thread in the first place - basically because cheese is now a no-no for me (though cottage cheese is OK).

So, your missions (should you choose to accept it) is to tell me about a sandwich which you like that you think I could make daily to take into uni! Oh - it has to be cold - no microwaves available. But you can also list your favourite sandwiches EVER! So mine is saucisson (garlic sausage) with brie inside a baguette. Which I can't eat 'cause its exceedingly unhealthy... :(

2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

Avocado, tomato & bacon on grain/wholemeal. Mmm...

3. stubeeef macrumors 68030

stubeeef

The Elvis: (problem, you need to keep it cool for the mayo)

It sounds awful, but is yummy!

Peanut Butter
    Banana slices
    Mayo

:eek: Ya I know!
    but it is good! :p

edit: BV's sounds better, but don't discount "THE ELVIS"

4. Applespider macrumors G4

Applespider

looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    Crayfish and avocado with rocket on granary is my favourite. Or roasted chorizo with rocket on Italian crusty when available.

Suggestions for other fillings that are cheap/healthy

Create a larder of 'interesting' additions so you can give fillings different flavours - olives, sweetfire peppers, gherkins, chutneys, relish, mustard. Have a bag of rocket/baby spinach to add a handful of greenery and liven things up a little.

Tuna (can be mixed with olives/peppers/dressings/mayo/sweetcorn) to create different flavours)