The Sims 2 Crashes After an Archive and Install

Discussion in 'Games' started by ghall, Sep 28, 2006.

  1. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    Okay, so I had to Archive and Install my OS (long story, I won't get into that now), and after it was done, I went to play the Sims 2: Open For Buisness, which I had recently bought and installed before I reinstalled Mac OS X, and it got to the loading screen, and crashed. I tried wiping everything that had to do with the game off my hard drive, and reinstalling it all, but no luck. I repaired permissions, and all that stuff.

    I even contacted Aspyr tech support, but they told me to do the stuff I had already tried. Arrgh! What should I do?
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  3. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #3
    Crap, I think I deleted the crash logs. I don't have the Sims 2 installed right now, since I deleted it again, after my reinstall. I'll install it now and start it up, and I'll post the crash log. Should take 20 minutes.
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Did you delete anything that it might have left in the /Library/Application Support/ or /Users/Shared/ ?
     
  5. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #5
    I deleted EVERYTHING and I'm reinstalling now. I'm on the Nightlife expansion, I should have it completly installed in a few minutes.
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    I would not install any expansions until you get the vanilla Sims 2 install to work.
     
  7. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #7
    Waah wah waaaaah! :D

    I'll just hold off installing Open For Buisness, and install the Nightlive UB patch.
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Again.. start over. Install ONLY "The Sims 2".
    Otherwise, you have no idea what is breaking where.
     
  9. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #9
    Okay, it's installing now! Also, I included the crash report if you want to check it out, it's rather long though.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    2 complaints leap out at me...
    possible sound issues, and possible video/OpenGL issues.

    What kind fo Mac is this? Are you using a 3rd party sound card?

    EDIT: scratch that, this is on your MBP, yes?

    Was your Archive & Install a complte one, or did you preserve user settings?
     
  11. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #11
    It's a MacBook Pro, that has undergone NO modifications except for adding some RAM. The RAM was 3rd party RAM. Should I remove the RAM and see what happens?
     
  12. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    No. At least, not yet.

    Was your Archive & Install a complte one, or did you preserve user settings?
     
  13. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #13
    I'm pretty sure I preserved user settings.

    Also, I just ran the game without any expansion packs. It loads up without crashing, but there's no audio.
     
  14. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    I'd log in as another user and test out running it.. if the problems were based within your user, then you've inherited them from your A&I.
     
  15. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #15
    Nope, same thing. Still has no audio. It also skips the intro video.
     
  16. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  17. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
  18. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #18
    Just open GarageBand and then quit it. It's a weird fix to some rare audio issues. I have no idea if it will help your issue, but it's a quick and easy thing to try.
     
  19. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #19
    Boo-ya! It works now. Not only that, but the audio in M$ Entourage is working again as well. Talk about killing 2 birds with one stone. Thanks so much.

    Hey, maybe iTunes will stop being a B*** too.
     

Share This Page