The Sleeping Beauty Syndrome

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by chelseasian, Feb 6, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    chelseasian

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    New York, NY (Chelsea)
    #1
    Hi guys

    I just noticed this problem with my new MBA and it is not limited it. I had the same experience previously with a MBP from work. Whenever I shut the lid to put the laptop to sleep, I had trouble waking it up. It is so hit or miss. Sometimes, if I am lucky I will get the spinning beach ball and the prompt for the password. Upon entering password, the screen goes blank to black and the MBP is back to sleeping with the lid open.

    Anyway, I am experiencing the same problem with the MBA even though I have yet to set the password function to wake from sleep. It is a most vexing. I would have thought Apple would have resolve this little issue by now. So far my solution consists of a hard reset which means I will lose any unsaved work. Bullocks!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    MazingerZ

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #2
    That's weird...my MBA wakes up from sleep instantly..much faster than my MBP. :confused:
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #3
    I have a similar problem on both my MBP and MBA, although it's only happened once so far on the MBA.

    It's asleep. When I wake it up, sometimes I just get the spinning beach ball and no login box. If I then close the lid and put it to sleep, then wake up again, I usually get the login box.

    Very annoying...
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    No problems here

    I haven't experienced that with my MBA. It wakes almost instantly when I open the screen.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    chelseasian

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    New York, NY (Chelsea)
    #5
    So I brought my MBA back to the Apple Store today about the sleeping beauty syndrome. After spending some time at the Genius Bar they figured it is an OS issue, they did some checks and it seems that I had the wrong OS loaded or something.

    Short of it is that replaced it with a brand new MBA and made sure that everything worked as it should. So far it's been great!
    :D

    As a buying tip for this considering the MBA, don't bother with the output adapters. The MBA comes with the VGA and DVI output adapters. The only one you may want to get is the one for RCA output which is not included and an Apple remote if you have to.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #6
    My dad's mini does this too! Definitely an OS X issue.
     

Share This Page