The StarCraft OS X Native Installer has come out!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Games' started by msharp, Jul 13, 2004.

  1. msharp macrumors regular

    msharp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    #1
    The StarCraft OS X Native Installer has come out!!!!!!
    It really works!!! Go and give it a try!
     
  2. BrianKonarsMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #2
    !!!! and the irony of it all...i lost my cds recently...perhaps they'll turn up, but i have no problem shelling out another $20 to play this classic over. best game ever.
     
  3. Maxicek macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #3
    Just in time - my 15" PowerBook arrived yesterday and I have some installing to do. I was going to hold off on Starcraft for a while.
     
  4. cubist macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #4
    Great news! And for those who don't have this game (one of the best RTS games EVER), go to Best Buy and get the SC/BW combo set for a mere $9.99!
     
  5. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #6
    Get it here.

    Just used it - works great!
     
  6. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #7
    Remember that you can make a disk image and then run without the CD using up power....

    Here's how:

    (1) First, install Starcraft and Brood War using new installer (or just Starcraft if that's all you have).

    (2) Open Applications->Utilities->Disk Utility.

    (3) Insert your Brood War CD (or just Starcraft if that's all you have)

    (4) Click (on the left hand side of Disk Utility's main window) the "Session 1" icon (below your DVD drive, above "Brood War CD" or "Starcraft CD").

    (5) Select "New Image" from the toolbar

    (6) Format as "read only" (default), encryption "None" (default), named "Brood War CD" somewhere you'd like to keep it.

    (7) Click "Save"

    (8) When done, double-click on the image to open it, and then you can play the game without the CD. Note that this doesn't start the game, just makes the game think the CD is in... you still need to start the game itself from where ever you installed it.
     
  7. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #8
    What are the odds!!! Just yesterday, I went through hoops to copy classic files from an old computer at work to my ipod, so I could then install starcraft on my G5 at home. Now they come out with an OS X installer the next day! Oh, well. Now if only people knew how to hack starcraft to run at higher resolutions. Starcraft tends to look kinda bad running in its native resolution on my 23" cinema display.
     
  8. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #9
    it wouldn't be a hack. it would be a re-write of the graphics engine and every single texture in the entire game.

    our only hope for high-res Starcraft is a sequel...they set up for it at the end of brood war (if you got to play the special bonus mission, you know what i mean...if not, i won't spoil it...let's just say you run into some interesting stasis pods.)...
     
  9. seamuskrat macrumors 6502a

    seamuskrat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    #10
    I am sure Blizzard is brainstorming another Star Craft game. Between StarCraft and Diablo they know they have winners. I think WoW has them tied up, but SC is overdue for some work.
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    Blizzard have stated that they "fully intend to revisit the world of StarCraft on PC at some point in the future". Presumably by "PC" they mean Windows and Mac (the quote was from the FAQ of Ghost, a console game).
     
  11. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
  12. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #13
    can someone remind me where the serial # is found on Brood War CDs? I actually have 2 legal copies of it... and can't locate any CD keys to play with!
     
  13. Maxicek macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #14
    Mine is a small sticker on the box, under where the CD usually sits. I have the Sierra Best Sellers Starcraft / Brood Wars combined DVD package.
     
  14. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #15
    Oh no, I think I threw out my boxes just last week!! Oh, that would be terrible. I hope I have the CD key somewhere else...
     

Share This Page