The topic of WinXP / X1900 XT / ACD 23" (and few others...)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Origin, Sep 20, 2006.

  1. Origin macrumors regular

    Origin

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    #1
    Greetings visitors :D

    I'm starting my first thread to this forum, waooooh :)
    I would like to get experiences and "hints & tips" about the now well-known problem of the mac pro with X1900 XT and Apple Cinema Displays 23" . I read in some other boards that the problem also affected some persons with other type of monitors.

    Personaly, I got the followed behavior :

    As soon as I select Windows partition to boot with under the early EFI boot menu (alt key), i get my ACD going to "sleep mode" and then come back to operational mode again (not all the time, thats very strange) as soon as I get the Windows XP Welcome screen (in fact, as soon as the ATI drivers are loaded and initialized by XP). When the screen decide to NOT COME UP (I would say, half of the boots) the only solution I found was to power offf/power on the display. In that case, I finally get the Windows welcome screen.

    Last point : I have not this problem with the same setup except exchanging the X1900 by the stock 7300 GT.

    The last SMC + EFI update (19th of September) did not solve this issue.

    Have you other hints & tips about this ?
    Has anyone found a solution to this problem ?

    Thx for your posts,
    Cédric

    PS : sorry for my poor english but I'm french ;)
     
  2. macrobat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #2
    I hope people chime in on this thread. I am getting my ATI x1900 xt today I will give it a shot and see what happens.
     
  3. prograham macrumors member

    prograham

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    I'm also looking to get a mac pro soon and have one of the older 23"ACD, the version before the titanium casing (ie-the pinstripe version), WHICH, connects via 'apple display connection' (ADC).

    Has anyone been using boot camp and an older ACD that connects to the mac pro via adc->dvi connector? Same issues?

    On a side note I'm going to miss being able to power on my mac from my display. Oh well, 8 cores will make up for it.:rolleyes:
     
  4. phantasm10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #4
    I know its not the same issue, but perhaps somehow related:

    I have a Belkin Flip KVM connected to a Dell 2405FPW via DVI->VGA adapter. It worked great with the 7300, but when I installed a 1900, the Flip would lock-up and the Mac wouldn't boot at all.
     
  5. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    --> http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=233759

    I'm surprised you were even able to get Windows installed. I had to use a different monitor to do it.

    I also had the same problem (screen would only sometimes come on when loading Windows) and installing WinACD fixed it.
     
  6. Origin thread starter macrumors regular

    Origin

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    #6
    I installed WinXP with my 7300 GT ;)

    Thx for the link. I'll read it :)
     
  7. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #7
    I'm hopeful we will see a patch for this soon. Documented, repeatable problems usually get fixed fairly quick. Look at the XP Sata issue... it appears to be solved with the recent firmware update. I'm thinking Apple will have this resolved in the next few weeks. In the meantime, people are coming up with work-arounds.
     
  8. macrobat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #8
    well I got it up and running. I already had windows installed so all I had to do was install the ati catalyst. I did need my 17" screen or else I would't be able to do it. So long story short if you dont have a extra screen and only have a 23" ACD then you are SOL. All that said all I can say is wow! this thing is a beast in a big way. I am totally impressed with it I ran all my games maxed out and it had no problems what so ever. Worth every penny I spent on it. The only thing I can't figure out is how to adjust the brightness on my 17" screen it keeps reseting it to 0 brightness and when I boot into OSX I have to adjust it again. I installed winacd but it doesnt show up now that I have installed the ati catalyst.
     
  9. macrobat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #9
    Well I guess I spoke to soon. I am not able to get any of my monitors to work in windows even after I have set everything up!:mad: It worked fine last night but when I boot into window nothing. I know its loaded windows because it sets my brightness level on my 17" monitor all the way down and I have to adjust it osx. SUCKS!!
     
  10. Origin thread starter macrumors regular

    Origin

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    #10
    Okay, so : Last night, I installed the WinACD drivers and all seems to work great now (except the "invisible boot", obviously).

    I hope Apple will correct the last remaining problem with the ACD 23" with a simple EFI or GFX Firmware update soon ...
     
  11. macrobat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #11
    Well I am able to get into windows but I have to power off my acd and then power it on to see anything. I installed winacd so I guess that helpled but for some reason and I cant figure out why everytime I boot into windows it adjust my brightness all the way down for my 17" screen and I have to manually adjust it in winacd
     
  12. arsair macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #12
    Problem with Dell 2407.

    Hi, I know this is an ACD thread but I have a Dell 2407 I just bought and I have the same exact problem as you all seem to have with the ACD 23. It won't boot up in Windows, and it doesn't seem to work with a DVI cable in OS 14.8 or Windows. I don't have another computer handy to find out if it is a faulty monitor, but it is my impression that the video card is somehow to blame because the monitor seems to work fine when it is on. No dead pixels everything seems fine with the monitor. Its just the Mac Pro and the X1900XT, it seems not to want to work with the Dell. I installed my CRT back and the Dell and I can't get Windows or Mac OS too detect BOTH monitors at the same time. Windows only detects the CRT and Mac OS will only see the CRT if both are connected. If I disconnect the CRT and just leave the Dell via VGA Mac will then detect it.

    Any ideas, sound like a familiar issue to anyone?
     
  13. mikee1979 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #13
    I have the same problem as everyone else, the ACD will only work in XP after it's been powered down. I've read that installing the WinACD drivers has worked for some people but even after installing the drivers and seeing Apple 23 Cinema appear in the Device Manager it still does'nt work after a restart. Has anyone actually got it to work 100%? I think I'm giving up for now.
     

Share This Page