The Worst Jobs in Science: The Sequel

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by palusami, Nov 22, 2004.

1. palusami macrumors regular

palusami

A quote from the #1 worst job, an @nal-wart researcher:

“I see about 15 butts a day, and a third of them have warts,” says nurse practitioner Naomi Jay of the University of California at San Francisco.

:eek:

just when you think you have it bad, there's always someone who has it worse...

http://www.popsci.com/popsci/science/article/0,20967,713471,00.html

2. wdlove macrumors P6

wdlove

Everyone has bad days. It just happens with any job that there will be tasks that are disliked. Some jobs are worse than others. That is why individuality us so important. What one person thinks is terrible another takes is as just routine. Even in the case of the nurse practitioner.

3. yippy macrumors 68020

yippy

I saw that article. My job made the list :eek: . I am a computer help desk consultant. And it is so true how stupid some of the people you deal with are. The worst is when you know exactly what the problem is but they won't listen to you. Oh well.

4. wdlove macrumors P6

wdlove

Thank you for what you do. I appreciate the assistance that you provide. It seems to be frustrating for both ends of the line.

5. wordmunger macrumors 603

wordmunger

I once held one of the jobs on the list: public school science teacher. I lasted three months. Hard to teach biology in a physics lab. Especially when the students are throwing things at you.

6. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

jared_kipe

I think everyone would agree that the worst science job would be any that involves radioactive or dangerous substances on a regular basis. Doesn't matter how much lead you're wearing, there is always the chance...

7. KingSleaze macrumors 6502

Spoken like a person who has no concept of the many radioactive substances in his daily life.

8. cazlar macrumors 6502